We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria al Ponte

Trattoria al Ponte
S. Croce, 1666, Venice, Italy (San Croce)
041 719777
Improve this listing
Ranked #597 of 1,193 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Croce
Philippines
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our last night in Venice and we chose this little restaurant near a bridge by the canal. We walked there from our hotel and along the way we saw and heard beautiful music being played by a violinist in the nearby square. We ordered wine (cabernet and pinot blanco), zuppa, salad, spaghetti bolognese, and primo della casa. This is a small restaurant, sparsely decorated and with well trained food attendants (fluent in English) . The good smell of food being cooked in the kitchen is the main attraction of this place. Our total bill for dinner that night was not bad Euro 40.00. What a memorable evening in Venice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    38
    10
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very modest place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had lunch in this place. Was very cold inside actually it was canteen-like place. Very plain food - no fantasy in cooking or in serving the meal. However have to admit the place is very nicely located by the little brige over the channel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We loved the little square, the canal, the bakery across the street and this little resturant by the canal. My husband had bolonesgna and octopus salad and said it was delicious and I and clam linguine with mixta ensalada and it was also very good.The wine came in cute little jugs and we thought it was a nice, crisp , cold white wine for me, red for hubby and neither of us could find fault with anything. We enjoyed the area and sitting outside by the canal on Oct 23rd was a nice treat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way but very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stumbled upon this place after giving up looking for the place that we really wanted to visit (Al Prosecco Wine Bar). We eventually did find the wine bar but as it was almost 9pm they told us that they had run out of food. The rain was heavy and we were cold and wet and very hungry so we opted for the nearest place, Trattoria Al Ponte right next to the canal. It was extremely hot in the restaurant and so we sat outside under the canopy in the rain. I ordered the lasagna which was creamy and very tasty, and my family ordered gnocchi and spaghetti bolognese. The Soave wine and Valipolicella were very nice. The menu was reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and the lovely young girls that waited upon us were very helpful. We were very happy with our meal but still disappointed that we missed the opportunity to sample the wines on offer at Al Prosecco. We were happy though that we found this place as the food and service were good. We didn't have to wait long for our meals.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not bad but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The food was very nice and reasonably priced, sitting outside was lovely. We ordered the house white wine which we received in a small jug, it was so weak we were convinced it was watered down. We were too polite to complain though and it put a dampener on our meal so we didn't tip (service not included). There was also a cover charge of €4 each, contrary to a previous review of no charge.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria al Ponte also viewed

 
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria al Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria al Ponte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.