We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facility, great location, fantastic breakfasts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Paruta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Paruta to your Saves list
Palazzo Paruta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco, 3824 | (Campo Sant'Angelo), 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility, great location, fantastic breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel was formerly a small palace and the rooms are classic and beautiful. The one in which we stayed even had a rooftop balcony attached which overlooked one of the cobblestone streets and provided an interesting place to unwind at the end of the day. We literally loved this place, with both its elegance and local flair.

Although they don't have full kitchen service all day, the breakfasts are ridiculously good. A wonderfully good-natured guy in formal wear made eggs and crepes to order...his crepes Suzette were one of the most decadent and delicious things I have ever had for breakfast. I would have to crown him the master of that realm! They also had a nice coffee/tea time in the afternoon with free ice cream and drinks so you could meet some of the other guests and enjoy the courtyard.

The rooms were beautifully decorated and romantic...and at least the one we got was very spacious, as well, with a separate living room and plenty of natural light. You are also right around the corner from one of the Vaporetto stops. This part of the city seemed quiet and safe, but close enough to get easily where you wanted to go (either by foot, or on the Vaporetto water bus).

The staff were friendly and helpful, although this is definitely a place on the rise, so there can be gaps (e.g. - an ice machine being down for days). On the whole though, the staff seemed knowledgeable about options of what to do, where to go, how to get there, etc. The city can be confusing and maze-like, so between the staff putting you in the right direction and seeking the help of the very friendly Venetians along the way, you can eventually find your way anywhere...you just have to allow time to get turned around.

I loved Venice and this place was one of the factors in making our trip special, I will definitely plan on going back soon.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting back for the tea time so you can ensure you enjoy this place fully. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    131
    32
    14
    8
See reviews for
65
359
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

As said already by many reviewers, this is a great place to base yourself in Venice. It is within an easy 5min walk from Sant Angelo pier, within a lazy 15-20min walk to San Marco square. The staff were great, and the reception was very helpful. The standard room was small (but bigger than the avergae Paris room) but comfortable. We were upgraded our first night and that room was twice the size which was nice but we were in Venice and didn't spend alot of time in the room.

The hotel offered complimentary afternoon tea in their impressive lounge and the breakfast was good. They also offered a complimentary transfer to Murano island and a guided tour through a Murano glass factory and show room. You have to take the public transport back. Well worth doing.

From here you should definitely cross the L'Accademia bridge (better than the Rialto Bridge for photos) and turn left and walk to Santa Maria della Salute church. This is a nice, quieter, area with loads of galleries and interesting stires. If you take the right over the bridge you find quite different areas that are great for cafes, bars, restaurants and shopping. Much less crowded. If you end up at San Marco Square and need lunch or a drink, head to Sestante - a new bar/restaurant about 10min from S.M Square down San Zaccaria (between the river and Campo San Zaccaria. Great place, great Spritz, and you can have 2 courses, coffee and water for 10 Euro between 12-3pm. Awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Cute hotel, the old Palazzo, interesting interior. But the size of the rooms is amazing, we went to the attic floor - a superior room (!) Ceiling is very low, I made several swipes. Husband growth under two meters walked bent double. Of particular note is the work of wi-fi, but at the end of vacation, I found a place in the corner of the room, where you can connect to the internet! At the reception, wi-fi worked well. Very varied buffet for breakfast, champagne, lots of desserts, delicious. My opinion - it is possible to find another hotel, this one only super offer and carefully stipulate the height of the ceiling is not an attic!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel while traveling through Venice. It was everything we wanted. It was intimate without being tiny, new and old, and romantic. We had a great room with two terraces - one of which had a great sitting area with views of the street. The bath was all marble and had a great shower ( which is kind of rare in Europe I find). The staff were lovely and very helpful. The hotel is hidden slightly off San Angelo Sq. but in a great neighborhood - more upscale that many parts of Venice and with great shopping and restaurants neaby - it's about halfway between St. Mark's Sq and the Rialto Bridge - right where you want to be. My only advice is to make sure you get off the Waterbus at San Angelo and not elsewhere. If you take another stop you will need to walk much further and carry bags over several bridges with steps. San Angelo stop only requires 1 set of steps. If you have unlimited funds you can take a water taxi but only if the water is high enough - which it wasn't while we were there. Overall advice to travelers - wear comfortable shoes in Venice you will walk everywhere but surfaces can be uneven.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Palazzo Paruta has loads of Venetian charm, is reasonably priced, is within minutes of all the main tourist attractions, and really is a little gem in the heart of the city. Staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms spacious and lavishly furnished. Breakfast is in an elegant, frescoed dining room, with windows overlooking the canal below. The breakfast menu is as delicious as the setting: scrumptiously fresh croissants and a selection of other fare, or if you are feeling self-indulgent (as we were!) flambeed crepes are prepared at your table. A yummy way to begin the day. Palazzo Paruta also serves afternoon tea in its mirrored, chandeliered salon. It's like stepping back in time. We thoroughly recommend this wonderful little hotel. We stayed there during Carnival, and loved every minute.

Room Tip: Ground floor, off central courtyard. Quiet and elegantly furnished. Extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we stayed at the hotel end od April 2013. Our room standard double was very very small. You really have no room at all. Aside from the room size every thing else was excellent. The breakfasts were amazing and everything is prepared by the folks who run the breakfast. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located very close to the Sant Angelo ferry stop. Overall a very good experience

Room Tip: don't take the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Palazzo Paruta is just of Sant Angelo square, so very convenient for the vaporetto and to walk to Saint Marks Square and Rialto. The hotel is lovely, it has many of the original fittings and is very well maintained.

Check in was quick and we were taken to our room, 102, which I had asked for after seeing the rooms on their site. It was beautifully decorated and a good size, with a large bathroom. The staff were helpful in directing us to the places we wanted to go. The breakfast was served in a grand room, a lovely setting. There was a good selection and they made eggs and crepes to order. Service was a little slow, but there was only one person so we just sat back and had our coffees while we waited.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Paruta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Paruta

Address: San Marco, 3824 | (Campo Sant'Angelo), 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#62 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#73 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Paruta 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Paruta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Paruta Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Paruta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.