We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facility, great location, fantastic breakfasts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Paruta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Paruta to your Saves list
Palazzo Paruta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco, 3824 | Campo Sant'Angelo, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #76 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility, great location, fantastic breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel was formerly a small palace and the rooms are classic and beautiful. The one in which we stayed even had a rooftop balcony attached which overlooked one of the cobblestone streets and provided an interesting place to unwind at the end of the day. We literally loved this place, with both its elegance and local flair.

Although they don't have full kitchen service all day, the breakfasts are ridiculously good. A wonderfully good-natured guy in formal wear made eggs and crepes to order...his crepes Suzette were one of the most decadent and delicious things I have ever had for breakfast. I would have to crown him the master of that realm! They also had a nice coffee/tea time in the afternoon with free ice cream and drinks so you could meet some of the other guests and enjoy the courtyard.

The rooms were beautifully decorated and romantic...and at least the one we got was very spacious, as well, with a separate living room and plenty of natural light. You are also right around the corner from one of the Vaporetto stops. This part of the city seemed quiet and safe, but close enough to get easily where you wanted to go (either by foot, or on the Vaporetto water bus).

The staff were friendly and helpful, although this is definitely a place on the rise, so there can be gaps (e.g. - an ice machine being down for days). On the whole though, the staff seemed knowledgeable about options of what to do, where to go, how to get there, etc. The city can be confusing and maze-like, so between the staff putting you in the right direction and seeking the help of the very friendly Venetians along the way, you can eventually find your way anywhere...you just have to allow time to get turned around.

I loved Venice and this place was one of the factors in making our trip special, I will definitely plan on going back soon.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting back for the tea time so you can ensure you enjoy this place fully. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Tropical_Snowstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

As said already by many reviewers, this is a great place to base yourself in Venice. It is within an easy 5min walk from Sant Angelo pier, within a lazy 15-20min walk to San Marco square. The staff were great, and the reception was very helpful. The standard room was small (but bigger than the avergae Paris room) but comfortable. We were upgraded our first night and that room was twice the size which was nice but we were in Venice and didn't spend alot of time in the room.

The hotel offered complimentary afternoon tea in their impressive lounge and the breakfast was good. They also offered a complimentary transfer to Murano island and a guided tour through a Murano glass factory and show room. You have to take the public transport back. Well worth doing.

From here you should definitely cross the L'Accademia bridge (better than the Rialto Bridge for photos) and turn left and walk to Santa Maria della Salute church. This is a nice, quieter, area with loads of galleries and interesting stires. If you take the right over the bridge you find quite different areas that are great for cafes, bars, restaurants and shopping. Much less crowded. If you end up at San Marco Square and need lunch or a drink, head to Sestante - a new bar/restaurant about 10min from S.M Square down San Zaccaria (between the river and Campo San Zaccaria. Great place, great Spritz, and you can have 2 courses, coffee and water for 10 Euro between 12-3pm. Awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Cute hotel, the old Palazzo, interesting interior. But the size of the rooms is amazing, we went to the attic floor - a superior room (!) Ceiling is very low, I made several swipes. Husband growth under two meters walked bent double. Of particular note is the work of wi-fi, but at the end of vacation, I found a place in the corner of the room, where you can connect to the internet! At the reception, wi-fi worked well. Very varied buffet for breakfast, champagne, lots of desserts, delicious. My opinion - it is possible to find another hotel, this one only super offer and carefully stipulate the height of the ceiling is not an attic!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyKatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel while traveling through Venice. It was everything we wanted. It was intimate without being tiny, new and old, and romantic. We had a great room with two terraces - one of which had a great sitting area with views of the street. The bath was all marble and had a great shower ( which is kind of rare in Europe I find). The staff were lovely and very helpful. The hotel is hidden slightly off San Angelo Sq. but in a great neighborhood - more upscale that many parts of Venice and with great shopping and restaurants neaby - it's about halfway between St. Mark's Sq and the Rialto Bridge - right where you want to be. My only advice is to make sure you get off the Waterbus at San Angelo and not elsewhere. If you take another stop you will need to walk much further and carry bags over several bridges with steps. San Angelo stop only requires 1 set of steps. If you have unlimited funds you can take a water taxi but only if the water is high enough - which it wasn't while we were there. Overall advice to travelers - wear comfortable shoes in Venice you will walk everywhere but surfaces can be uneven.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunSeekerMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Palazzo Paruta has loads of Venetian charm, is reasonably priced, is within minutes of all the main tourist attractions, and really is a little gem in the heart of the city. Staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms spacious and lavishly furnished. Breakfast is in an elegant, frescoed dining room, with windows overlooking the canal below. The breakfast menu is as delicious as the setting: scrumptiously fresh croissants and a selection of other fare, or if you are feeling self-indulgent (as we were!) flambeed crepes are prepared at your table. A yummy way to begin the day. Palazzo Paruta also serves afternoon tea in its mirrored, chandeliered salon. It's like stepping back in time. We thoroughly recommend this wonderful little hotel. We stayed there during Carnival, and loved every minute.

Room Tip: Ground floor, off central courtyard. Quiet and elegantly furnished. Extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we stayed at the hotel end od April 2013. Our room standard double was very very small. You really have no room at all. Aside from the room size every thing else was excellent. The breakfasts were amazing and everything is prepared by the folks who run the breakfast. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located very close to the Sant Angelo ferry stop. Overall a very good experience

Room Tip: don't take the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vince m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Palazzo Paruta is just of Sant Angelo square, so very convenient for the vaporetto and to walk to Saint Marks Square and Rialto. The hotel is lovely, it has many of the original fittings and is very well maintained.

Check in was quick and we were taken to our room, 102, which I had asked for after seeing the rooms on their site. It was beautifully decorated and a good size, with a large bathroom. The staff were helpful in directing us to the places we wanted to go. The breakfast was served in a grand room, a lovely setting. There was a good selection and they made eggs and crepes to order. Service was a little slow, but there was only one person so we just sat back and had our coffees while we waited.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Binal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#64 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#54 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#47 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#138 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#46 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Paruta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Paruta

Address: San Marco, 3824 | Campo Sant'Angelo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Venice
#49 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#68 Family Hotel in Venice
#71 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Paruta 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Paruta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Paruta Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing