We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Paruta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Paruta to your Saves list
Palazzo Paruta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco, 3824 | (Campo Sant'Angelo), 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and absolutely loved it!
We had a standard room and were a bit concerned we might be in the attic after reading other reviews. We were however on the ground floor just off the pretty courtyard. Yes the room was small but it was nicely decorated and had a big bathroom and we seemed to be the only residents using the courtyard so it was like our own private garden!
The management were discreet but always willing to help and make your stay special.
Gorgeous breakfast ,lovely to be offered champagne a great start to our anniversary! Complimentary coffee between 4 and 5.30pm was something we really appreciated and looked forward to after a day sightseeing and shopping!
The hotel was so tranquil we couldn't believe we were only 10 mins from the hustle and bustle of St. Marks square.
If youre looking for a beautiful, romantic Venetian experience this hotel comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request not to be in the attic ! We did and the management took notice of this. If you like a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paruta2010, Direttore generale at Palazzo Paruta, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy such a wonderful romantic stay away together. Your feedback will be shared with our staff, and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon in the future.

Nicola Sambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    136
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
67
368
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Palazzo Paruta lives up to expectations.

LOCATION:
At a maximum 5 minute walk from the vaporetto, which is a little confusing once you get off the boat until you get your bearings. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard, a great terrace, wifi and they had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room along with Italian cookies when we got there. It was super well located, as within 7 minutes of walking distance to San Marco Square, The Rialto Bridge and The Accademia Bridge. Lots of good restaurants and snack bars all around Campo Sant’ Angelo.

ROOM:
The room, was super clean, super neat and in very good condition. The bathroom was double-sized and I had no hot water issues. The cleaners did a great job every day and the room smelled fresh every day upon our return.

BREAKFAST :
Breakfast was better than advertised. The best part of this hotel was the breakfast room and buffet spread each morning. Waiters in tuxedos took your coffee order and made it to order for you. The buffet included meats, cheese, eggs (hardboiled or scrambled), cereals, pastries, fruit salad, tiramisu and other cakes and they also offered made to order omelettes or crepes. This is included in your room price. The breakfast room is also beautifully decorated in traditional Venitian style.

SERVICE:
Excellent ! Every time we were at the reception, we were greeted with a smile. All the staff was always very helpful and welcoming. All you had to do is ask and they would do their best to serve you. If you needed information, the front desk people were very knowledgeable and would give all the information they could.

EXTRA:
Every day, between 4pm and 5:30pm, on the upper terrace, they would serve complimentary coffee, iced coffee, gelato and cakes. This is a really nice extra as it usually cost a few euro elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paruta2010, Direttore generale at Palazzo Paruta, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We are delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations.
Our complimentary coffe-break including iced coffee cream and our special "granita" (very much like an American 'snow cone') is a unique extra service that we offer our guests. Glad to hear you found it nice. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Nicola Sambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We arrived at the hotel expecting a nice double deluxe room, as per the photos shown on the hotels website however the room we were given was nothing like those advertised (See image attached, comparing the two). It was smaller, run down, dirty and extremely tired. Apart from that, the room had a very strong musty/mouldy smell that the hotel obviously was aware of as there were strong air fresheners plugged into the power points in an attempt to mask the smell. The bathroom also had mould in the grout with broken fixtures in the shower (see pictures). When we asked to change rooms we were told the hotel was full and that they would spray some more air freshener in the room, they also told us to leave the door open for a bit which resulted in a room full of Mosquitos!

In addition to the disaster of a room, the man on the front desk was rude and un-interested in helping as he said he was the only person on duty (the only hotel I've stayed at in the world that has 1 person on duty at 6pm).

The following day, we were moved to another room, which still had a smell to it, although not as bad. This room was also NOTHING like the rooms shown on the website, it was such a let down the beautiful pictures we saw on the site. This room had carpet that was terribly stained (see pictures) and no number on the door, so we spent about 5 minutes trying to find our room.

The wi-fi doesn't work in the rooms (either of the rooms we were in), only out in the court-yard or reception area which is really annoying..

The cherry on top was on the third day, we went back up to our room to drop some things off and the maid was in the room cleaning... when we walked in she also had a friend that didn't work at the hotel sitting on our bed chatting with her whilst she cleaned our room. Despite the obvious security problems with this, it is also the most unprofessional thing I've ever seen. At this point we just gave up on hoping we would have any positive experiences at this hotel.

This is not a 4 star hotel, despite costing as much as one. Better value can be found elsewhere in Venice. Avoid this property at all costs.

Room Tip: To get the best room, book one at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paruta2010, Direttore generale at Palazzo Paruta, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Mr. Morris,
Thank you for letting us know about your less than spectacular stay with us. We understand clearly how guests can get frustrated by not getting the room they want. In reviewing your reservation I see that you booked one standard double room and not one superior double room (so the comparing you’ve made is absolutely misleading and false). As far as the little traces of mould in the grout near the bathtub there’s no excuses. As far as the cleanliness of your room, I wish you had informed us at the time as we could have taken action to make you feel better. We do run a very clean hotel as you read from the many guests that stay with us, so this is not the norm, and for that I apologize. The broken fixtures in the shower (we are talking about the little ring of the support bar) was damaged by the clients departed in the morning of your arrival date and fixed the day after when this little accessories became available in the shop. Unfortunately due to our high occupancy we did not have another room available at the moment for a room change as per your request but we have provided the next morning. We are sorry that you spent such a long time (5 minutes) to find the room because there was not the room number. Your room was on the fourth floor where exist only one room so we don’t understand why it was so difficult to find it. It is also strange that the wi-fi doesn’t work in both rooms you had as both rooms have installed inside the wi-fi router. I wish you had informed us at the time also about this inconvenience but you didn’t. The person you found in the room while the maid was cleaning was not an her friend but was the plumber who just fixed the air conditioning. Our guest’s safety and security is of the upmost importance and building entrance is controlled via the reception desk 24 hours a day along with cameras placed in all public areas.
Nicola Sambo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a huge room and canal views. The Hotel is small and truly romantic, it rests away from the noise, the bustle and crowds but near enough for St. Mark's to be within walking distance.
I highly recommend this hotel if what you are looking for is a Venetian experience without hearing gondolieri singing all night long.
It was a bit difficult to find because upon arrival all the streets looked the same to us as soon as we left the vaporetto, but once we got the hang of it, we came and went to and from the hotel with ease.
Lovely atmosphere. Do ask for nutella crepes during breakfast. Yum.

Room Tip: We choose a canal view suite and it was HUGE. I do recommend looking at all the pictures carefully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paruta2010, Direttore generale at Palazzo Paruta, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear PinkyHuerta,
Thank you for contributing a review of your experience on Trip Advisor. It is always meaningful to us, especially when a Senior Reviews shares feedback.
Our team takes so much pride in the product and service we provide to our guests every day and we love the feedback.
I hope you will have the opportunity to come back in Venice for another visit with us!
Nicola Sambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is the most expensive hotel I have ever stayed in and the one I have to say I was the most dissappointed with.

Yes Venice is expensive, but what I was not expecting was a tiny attic room that made me feel sea sick! It was so dark that I had to use my mobile phone to read the air con controller.

It was made worse by the staff! The service you seemed to get depended on the level of room you booked. So for example at breakfast I had to call someone over for a coffee, yet the people behind came in sat down and within 30 seconds they were offered a glass of Prossecco?

The staff were rude and off hand, even on arrival and happily watch a solo female struggle over the bridge with my suitcase and then mocked the fact I was on my own. They even had their own little chat about it in front of me whilst I was still stood at the check in desk.

To make matters worse I then had to speak to the same lady about the room, who's response was "you booked a standard room, that is a standard room" Their website makes even the basic rooms look light airy and spacious! My room was none of that and I actually found it oppressive!

The plus side was a nice location, but if I had my time again I would book something cheaper a little further out.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in the dark small low ceiling attic room if you really do decide to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, CA., USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in the Junior Suite with a canal view and it was more like a palace. I still dream of the gorgeous murano glass chandelier and beautiful ceiling. The room was enormous and the view of the canal just what we expected. The hotel is located on a quiet piazza near shops and restaurants and is not far from the water taxi. The location is also close to all the tourist attractions but not the crowds. We had our breakfast included and it was the best breakfast we had during our stay in Europe. My parents enjoyed conversing with the chef each morning and the rest of the staff were professional and accommodating. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, Kent ENGLAND
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We visited Venice for 3 days in early June 2012 and stayed in the Paruta Suite at the Palazzo Paruta. In spite of a mishap regarding the booking (an aggregator's website listed the wrong price and sorting this out directly with the hotel involved multiple phone calls), the suite was opulent and impressive. We had our 3 and 6yr olds in tow so this was the only family suite that could be booked.

The hotel is located right in Sestiere di San Marco, which means it is centrally located and a short 15 minute walk to St. Mark's square. The area around the hotel was lovely with charming osterias close by and good shopping. This is probably true for much of Venice, but it felt like a great location!

The hotel itself served a wonderful Italian buffet breakfast each day with the most amazing breakfast pastries that were basically desserts -- the tiramisu was mouth-watering. In the courtyard, they served complimentary tea, coffee and granitas in the afternoon, which the kids loved as a midday break from all the walking.

The toiletries were nearly fullsize and luxurious. The only downside to the suite was the lack of view (we faced a brick wall but gold curtains were drawn to cover this) and hence lack of natural light. But the room lived up to its beautiful pictures on the website.

Other highlights of Venice: drinks at Harry's Bar -- overpriced but worth it to enjoy a bit of "history", St. Mark's Square, taking a boat trip to the end of the canal and enjoying a day at the Lido beach, which is how we would have pictured a classic Italian seaside town in the 30's.

Lovely trip, and even lovelier city - we will defintely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paruta2010, Direttore generale at Palazzo Paruta, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Sbenemer,
Thank you for posting the kind words about your experience here. I am thrilled you felt such nice experience at our Paruta Junior Suite. We know the view from this room is not the must but the Venetian Palaces have also sides like this. On the other hand the beautiful Paruta Junior Suite is a very large room (40 sq. m), historic and unique, decorated with '700 original stuccos on the walls and on the ceiling and with an original Venetian marble floor.
I want to specifically thank you for having spent so nice words for our toiletries. That's mean you are really a connoisseur. Our "Carthusia" Junior Suites courtesy line is really the top with their unique frangrances from Capri.
We'd love to welcome you back in the near future!
Nicola Sambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Paruta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Paruta

Address: San Marco, 3824 | (Campo Sant'Angelo), 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Venice
#43 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#55 Family Hotel in Venice
#64 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Paruta 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Paruta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Paruta Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Paruta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.