We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection of Alcohol” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cantinone Gia' Schiavi

Cantinone Gia' Schiavi
Dorsoduro 992 | fondamenta Nani, 30123 Venice, Italy (Castello)
+39 041 523 0034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,204 restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Castello
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great selection of Alcohol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I noticed this place on my way from the dock to S. Marco near Accadamia. It was on my way back so I returned to grab some bottles of wine to take with me as it was my birthday. Very affordable and amazingly great service. I did not have a chance to eat anything but it looked and smelled very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    262
    105
    23
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“A great bar but not a great restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Let's be clear, this may be No. 10, or whatever, on Trip Advsor's list of restaurants in Venice but it is certainly not a restaurant and it is unhelpful to imply that it is superior to so many other places which also offer things like seats, tables, cutlery and other luxuries. As a bar it is very good (though not perfect) and well worth 4*. It offers a great selection of wines by the glass and extremely well-priced snacks. (It's also got a fabulous array of Italian wines by the bottle at what seemed to me very reasonable prices; unfortunately our bag was already at the weight limit for our easyJet return flight.). For just over a fiver we stood outside leaning against the wall and watching the gondolas go by while drinking Aperol Spritzes and eating wonderful baccala mantecato ciccheti. A great half hour but I'm guessing that a whole evening spent here would not be quite so romantic....

NB. This is the same place as Al Bottegone which, rather oddly, only ranks 237 on TA....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lounging by the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Terrific wine by the glass, good finger food, great chilled atmosphere.... sit by the wall outside and get ready for a great evening. Terrific pre- dinner spot just outside the tourist masses.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The start of a perfect evening in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Here's a recipe for the start of a perfect evening in Venice. Wander down to Cantinone Gia' Schiavi (and it might be confusing because the sign outside the door says "Vini Al Bottegon") and order yourself a few glasses of wine. Ask the man behind the counter to give you a sampler plate of cicchetti for two people. Grab your glasses and your plate and head outside, lean against the wall, and watch the people stroll by, chat with the others enjoying their food as well, and enjoy the boats gliding by on the side canal. Our love for this place was validated when we found out my uncle, who has lived in the Veneto his whole life, organizes a trip to Venice once a year to eat cicchetti and always makes this place their main stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cheap nice atmosphere standing bar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Many locals and tourists, but they have cheap nice wines and bruschetta!
We sat down river side and had some wines and some bruschetta, that was one of the best in Venice!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantinone Gia' Schiavi also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice

Been to Cantinone Gia' Schiavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantinone Gia' Schiavi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.