We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bar but not a great restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cantinone Gia' Schiavi

Cantinone Gia' Schiavi
Fondamenta Nani 992 | Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)
041 5230034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 1,211 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“A great bar but not a great restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Let's be clear, this may be No. 10, or whatever, on Trip Advsor's list of restaurants in Venice but it is certainly not a restaurant and it is unhelpful to imply that it is superior to so many other places which also offer things like seats, tables, cutlery and other luxuries. As a bar it is very good (though not perfect) and well worth 4*. It offers a great selection of wines by the glass and extremely well-priced snacks. (It's also got a fabulous array of Italian wines by the bottle at what seemed to me very reasonable prices; unfortunately our bag was already at the weight limit for our easyJet return flight.). For just over a fiver we stood outside leaning against the wall and watching the gondolas go by while drinking Aperol Spritzes and eating wonderful baccala mantecato ciccheti. A great half hour but I'm guessing that a whole evening spent here would not be quite so romantic....

NB. This is the same place as Al Bottegone which, rather oddly, only ranks 237 on TA....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    150
    32
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lounging by the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Terrific wine by the glass, good finger food, great chilled atmosphere.... sit by the wall outside and get ready for a great evening. Terrific pre- dinner spot just outside the tourist masses.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The start of a perfect evening in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Here's a recipe for the start of a perfect evening in Venice. Wander down to Cantinone Gia' Schiavi (and it might be confusing because the sign outside the door says "Vini Al Bottegon") and order yourself a few glasses of wine. Ask the man behind the counter to give you a sampler plate of cicchetti for two people. Grab your glasses and your plate and head outside, lean against the wall, and watch the people stroll by, chat with the others enjoying their food as well, and enjoy the boats gliding by on the side canal. Our love for this place was validated when we found out my uncle, who has lived in the Veneto his whole life, organizes a trip to Venice once a year to eat cicchetti and always makes this place their main stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheap nice atmosphere standing bar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Many locals and tourists, but they have cheap nice wines and bruschetta!
We sat down river side and had some wines and some bruschetta, that was one of the best in Venice!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spoiled with attention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is good overall. I personally liked it, however my partner hated it. Why? Well, the staff doesn’t really look like they want tourists attention. While I was served (after a long wait in a queue), they let before me two locals. And like this with all tourists. I understand though, as this place is very busy and is clearly favoured by locals. I asked for some Rosé, but was told they don't have any. Really? This is a wine cellar! I think they just were too busy to waste their time and instead I got Prosecco. I got five cicchetti and thought it was a great quick lunch. My partner had a bread roll with half a pig in it (seriously, the amount of thick cut ham was overwhelming lol), however the roll was far too dry, and with no butter or sauce in it, the mission to eat it all proved impossible. So, to summarise it all, if you are not a fussy customer, know what to order and you are happy with nowhere-to-be-seen customer service, you probably will like this place!
Oh, almost forgot, if you do take away, you will probably enjoy eating it outside along the canal on a sunny day, but be prepared to fight the pigeons!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantinone Gia' Schiavi also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Cantinone Gia' Schiavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantinone Gia' Schiavi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.