We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tucked-away wine shop/bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantinone Gia' Schiavi

Cantinone Gia' Schiavi
Dorsoduro 992 | fondamenta Nani, 30123 Venice, Italy (Castello)
+39 041 523 0034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 1,207 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Castello
Isle of Wight UK
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Great tucked-away wine shop/bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A really interesting shop with tastings by the glass and small cicchetti.

There is no wine list – the owner invites you to tell him what wine you like and he will suggest something. We were delighted to be able to buy Amarone by the glass (not readily available elsewhere) which was lovely.

We asked for assistance in finding a particular wine we had tried locally and cannot buy where we live in the UK. The owners are very knowledgable and pleased to offer advice. This is a fascinating store – you could spend hours here browsing all the shelves – a fun experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    265
    108
    23
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Local greatness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Very cheap and very yummy. The place is always humming with locals. 2 euro wine, 1 euro cicchetti you just can't go wrong. Do yourself a favour and stop by for a taste of real Venice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun at the off-licence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is as good a place as I have found in Venice to buy and take away a bottle, from fine wines through spirits to gutsy plonk. But the extra dimension is the avilability of excellent cichetti to mop up the liquor sampled on site. There is nowhere to sit but this adds somehow to the fun, balancing tipples and plates-full of savouries and jostling among the inevitable crowd who can;t get enough of the eperience. Don't miss it. You won't find its like anywhere else

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great quality, low prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

People who say you can't eat good food cheaply in Venice can't have been here. Was there last week and we had 4 glasses of wine, 5 ciccheti and one panini - 16 Euros for everything. You'd be pushed to buy the glasses of wine in UK for that, the quality was excellent and the staff so trusting that when I came to pay the bill they asked me what we had had.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect cichetti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited this place, also known as "Al Bottegon" twice during our stay. It is a wine shop with a bar and wonderful cichetti a few minutes from the Accademia bridge. Our first visit was late one rainy afternoon after visiting the Accademia, when we filled up on 2 rounds of 6 cichetti and 2 glasses of wine for 12 Euros per round. Our 2nd visit was an aperitivo stop off on our way out to dinner. There is an amazing array of cichetti on display, all of which are labelled in Italian. These are replenished frequently and so are very fresh. They close for a couple of hours mid afternoon and reopen at 4.30 so the best times to go are early lunchtime or before the spritz crowd arrive in the evening to snaffle the best cichetti. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantinone Gia' Schiavi also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Cantinone Gia' Schiavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantinone Gia' Schiavi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.