We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet palazzo a stone's throw from San Marco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' Querini San Marco B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ca' Querini San Marco B&B
Save
You added Ca' Querini San Marco B&B to your Saves list
Calle dell'Arco | Castello 3520, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quiet palazzo a stone's throw from San Marco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Easily accessible from the vaporetto station. Make sure you carry a map. Directions are clear, but Venice is confusing to the uninitiated.

Clean rooms, lovely view of a canal in an authentic lived in suburb. Sufficient goodies for an Italian morning snack.

High ceilings, and spacious main room. Built in kitchen.

San Marco is only about 10 min away.

BnB is based in a little palazzo with courtyard and garden. Discreet stay in comfortable surroundings. Would stay there again

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

As a Venetian who has long since moved abroad, I've always found it hard to find decent and reasonably priced accomodation in my city. Small and overpiced rooms, often of questionable cleanliness, seem to be the norm in this day and age.

In this respect, "Ca' Querini" was a very welcome surprise: our studio was impressive in size and, despite its simple furnishings, felt very much like "home". The breakfast tray included packaged sweets, rusks, jam, milk and ground coffee to be used with the provided moka, which is really all that's needed. Nearby bars such as "Chiusso", only a minute's walk away, also offer a great selection of pastry and croissants.

Moreover, the building itself is nothing short of extraordinary. Even I was left standing in awe once I walked through the main entrance: an oasis of quiet and calm, adorned by quintessentially Venetian architecture, and with a cat as an added plus (iwith the once ever-present cats of Venice seeming to have all but disappeared, this too contributed to restoring a bit of faith in my beloved hometown). The terrace atop the stairs was the perfect place to put one's feet up and relax.

Minor gripes include the bathroom, which could have used an additional light and a better shower partition, as well as the wifi connection, which only seemed to work in the living room, the kitchen, and parts of the terrace. Also, whilst I was informed in a timely fashion of the check-in time (the owners wrote me twice in the week before our arrival in order to confirm our stay, which I very much appreciated), my calls to the provided mobile phone number went unanswered until I personally went to the B&B and rang the doorbell. This was a bit distressing and made me fear for the worst, but as it turns out, the phone had simply been accidentally misplaced by the owner's assistant.

Once this little mishap was cleared, however, the owners turned out to be exquisitely hospitable and took time for a little chat. Coupled with the property' simple beauty, the mesmerising atmosphere, and the ridiculously low price we payed, this more than made up for the phone incident. I would wholeheartedly recommend the B&B "Ca' Querini" - in fact, I have already done so and spread the word among my Venetian friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, NZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked to stay for five nights at this B&B after reading generally favourable reviews on Trip Advisor. It comprises of units that are off an empty courtyard and did not have a manned reception desk or anyone on site during the stay. We arrived to find no one answered the bell and had to phone for entry. We were then in a courtyard with no one greeting us. We discovered it was necessary to call the manager or owner on our mobile (at our cost) for any contact. While clean, the room was very very basic with tiny single beds, crisp (exfoliating) towels and linen, and basic kitchen facilities. The tiny bathroom had the cleaner mop and bucket still in it and the shower was barely adequate. The TV only had one channel and wi-fi was not of sufficient strength to operate. The internal stairs (which were very steep) and hallways did not have automatic sensing lights which meant pitch black in the hallway until the switch was found by patting along the wall. We were visiting during chilly January and the radiator heater could not be turned up and using the extra bed blankets we were still cold. The basic breakfast was supplied for the week on the first day but there was no kettle to boil water. All in all, we left after one night. Why would we spend our precious Venice visit in such basic accommodation? We easily found four star accommodation for a cheaper rate than this was.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good location, good price for when we went. Can't go wrong with free internet and breakfast for what it is worth. I would stay here again if I wasn't going to stay on the water. I would recommend staying here. Oh, we arrived late and they stayed for us even though it was much later than they usually stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We followed the directions which led us to the door of the hostel/room, we pressed ther bell but there was no answer and we had no phone signal so we were a bit stuck with our luggage.Our time of arrival on the booking form was 11.00am and we arrived about 12. Fortunately there were some English students in the adjoining appartment and they answered their bell and were very helpful in contacting the person manning the reception desk, who told us check in time was 2-30 but he would be there in 30 mins. When he arrived he told us again check in was not until 2.30,it would have been helpful if there was a sign on the door stating this but it just looked like the door to someone's house there was no indication that this was a B&B.
It would have been helpful if this was stated on the booking instruction. The room was OK but basic and was not ready for us to move in to until 3.30, so we left our luggage in reception.
We loved the location and we really enjoyed our stay in Venice but the accomoadation was disappointing and the booking in process and access to the room frustrating and for this reason we would not reccommend booking this B&B

Room Tip: would not reccommend this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradninch54
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just returned from a great week in Venice - stayed in the apartment on the first floor - very clean - desk only manned from 2 til 6pm but very helpful - breakfast basic, but plenty of shops nearby to supplement this. Great location - 5 minutes walk from the waterfront and 15 from St Marks' Square - plenty of good restaurants and bars nearby. Would definitely come back and would recommend this B & B to anyone wanting reasonably priced accomodation near the heart of Venice.

Room Tip: The apartment didn't overlook the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This B&B is in a great location - very close to the main strip along the Venetian lagoon. When walking from the B&B backs towards the main strip, when you reach Salizada S.Antonin street, if you turn to the left, there is a nice coffee shop at the end of the road on the right-hand side. I don't remember the name, but we enjoyed going there each morning. The B&B does provide a reasonable breakfast of bread, jams, coffee, and juice. The room in which we stayed overlooked a canal, which was nice. And the room had a living room area, and a bedroom so there was more space than we expected. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' Querini San Marco B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Querini San Marco B&B

Address: Calle dell'Arco | Castello 3520, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' Querini San Marco B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.