We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Venetian in Santa Croce” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Ribot

Ristorante Ribot
Santa Croce 158 - Fondamenta Minotto - Rio del Gaffaro, 30124 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)
0039.041.5242486
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 1,207 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
616 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Nice Venetian in Santa Croce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our first Italian restaurant in Venice. We went based on reviews in TripAdvisor. As antipasti we ordered mix of cichetti, that were tailor made due to my boyfriend's allergy to seafood. As first and main course we chose tagliatelle with white ragout and spaghetti with pomodorini and shrimps. For dessert we chose tiramisú. It is near Piazzale Roma, next to many hotels.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    165
    34
    26
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cracow
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went for the New Year’s Eve dinner and we don’t regret it. This is a quiet restaurant, off the beaten track but well known for excellent cuisine and reasonable prices. The menu contained about 7 dishes and there were two glasses of prosecco (to begin with and at midnight). I would say the food is traditional but with a twist. As set of Venetian seafood starters was delicious and beautifully presented, the risotto with pumpkin and shrimps and the ravioli without a fault. Only the main dish, the sea bream, seemed a bit out of tune in that it was very simple and lacked the extra element of the other servings. I must however add that by that time we were already so full we could hardly eat it, so maybe that was the reason it seemed a bit disappointing. It is worth adding that the wines are exceptionally good value (a bottle of prosecco for 15 Euro!).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llucmajor, Spain
Level Contributor
319 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“The "local" locale - a true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

A pleasant locale, frequented by local businessmen, neighbors, regulars...
The odd tourist gets washed in and is hopefully pleasantly surprised by the simple but typical food, prepared from best and fresh produce.
Apart form the menu, there is a daily offer of two set menus. We tried both menus and even mixed courses - no problem for the friendly staff!
Good choice of low priced local wines a complimented the excellent food!
A true gem and a place to come back to ( as my Venetian friends do on a daily basis...)!

Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A good bet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had arrived in Venice at lunchtime and were a bit overawed by the choice of restaurants but, more importantly, Ribot was very near our hotel. We arrived at about 12.30 and were met by a very friendly waiter/patron who showed us into a virtually empty restaurant. This was a bit worrying, but within half an hour it was nearly full. There were two lunchtime menus – one consisting of fish, the other meat. Two courses were €15 and €18 respectively. The food was absolutely lovely. Home-made with great flavours. The fish menu consisted of Gnocchi with black squid ink sauce and sea bass. On the meat menu, the starter was a home-made pasta in tomato and pepper sauce and rolled beef roulades with a pine nut and sweet meat filling. We shared a dessert of mint chocolate fondant. Fantastic flavours, charming staff and great value at around €55 including wine. Our first and possibly best meal of the week.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Time and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stay 3 days in Venice. We follow on Tripadvisor where to go for a dinner and it was the choice what we experienced during our stay regarding quality of the food, service and atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Ribot also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Ribot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Ribot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.