We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, but friendly. Good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Verde

Bar Verde
Calle de le rasse 4525, 4525 Venice, Italy (Castello)
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,012 of 1,217 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Castello
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Busy, but friendly. Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This cafe/bar is in the most highly trafficked tourist eating zones in Venice. Despite this, our service was friendly and the sandwiches were really good! The waiter had some trouble getting everything straight with the orders but was the nonetheless attentive and friendly.

I see other visitors didn't experience the friendly service we did. Perhaps we had a better waiter. I would come back here, just for the good sandwiches!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele G, Direttore at Bar Verde, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thanks for the review.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    16
    12
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful Corner bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great service, friendly, delicious breakfast panini and cafe. They do not take Visa. Allowed me to run to local ATM. Irish Coffee was strong... Plenty of whiskey. ;). Recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele G, Direttore at Bar Verde, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thanks for nice review.
I'm glad you enjoyed our Irish coffee
With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Bar with Good Location but Not Very Friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Good spritz where you pay extra to sit but don't plan to sit for long. They push you out in a big hurry ready to sit another group of tourists.The staff is brusque and friendly to locals but treat tourists like they were invisible! Their tramezzini are only average and look better than they taste. Go across to the wine bar where the sandwiches are very good and the wine and spritz much better and they are friendly!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for lunch-time sandwich or evening glass of wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Bar Al Verde is conveniently located a few blocks east of St. Mark's. It is the type of place locals go to for a lite lunch or later in the day for a glass of wine or cup of coffee. Sandwiches to-go for four Euros and the same for a glass of wine standing at the bar. They have four or five bottles chilled and open just waiting for you. Try the Prosecco, a sparkling wine. Save several Euros by buying lunch to go.

There is a good Gelateria directly across the street.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our local hotel charged extra for the typical breakfast of crusty bread and coffee. So we walked steps away to Bar Al Verde, where we had delicious chocolate croissants, fruit smoothies and a fresh fruit bowl.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Verde also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Bar Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.