We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salad for lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Verde

Bar Verde
Calle de le rasse 4525, 4525 Venice, Italy (Castello)
Improve this listing
Ranked #860 of 1,214 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Castello
Suwannee, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Salad for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We split a large salad (8.5 euros), and it was fine for two, for lunch. Service was a bit indifferent, but salad was OK. House white wine was adequate, and it was all pretty quick. I'd do it again for lunch, but would not walk very far for it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    12
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great snack and aperitif stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Bar Verde was on our way to a hotel. It was our "time to take a break" bar. So, every day after long sightseeing tours, we took a table outside and ordered an aperols and got great snacks. We tried also delicious cakes and sandwiches, tramezzini, bruschette. (prices:al banco/al tavolo). It's busy, vivid atmosphere all day... it's a bar where the locals meet. We were sipping on aperitifs and watching people passing by.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a good stop on "Restaurant Row"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stopped here for lunch since Rick Steves mentioned this place in his Venice book. The Verde has a convenient corner location, but that is about it. The menu showed a nice, big plate of lasagna for 8 euro, so my husband decided to order it. Instead of a plate of pasta, he got ONE slice. Yes, one tiny slice of lasagna for 8 euro. RIP OFF. On top of that, Verde charged 4 euro for a cup of coke. Throw in the panini rustico that I ordered and we escaped the Verde minus 21 euro. The only positive was that Verde has a nice flatscreen TV that plays MTV-like videos while you dine. Other than that, try other places.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good for a sandwich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is not a place to enjoy a meal, but it is good place to stop for lunch if you just want a panini or pizza slice. There is a standing room bar and some very close seating. The Italians were having their coffee etc. at the bar and the tourists were sitting! It's always good to see Venetians eating where you're eating! It costs a little more to sit but we are not accustomed to standing while we eat. We shared a panini, a pizza slice and a small bottle of wine. We played it too safe ordering our panini--just procuitto and cheese. Some looked really good but we weren't sure what to order. The price was reasonable. We didn't feel rushed, but it's not the type of place where you would want to linger-too busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Our first meal in Venice. I myself decided on the carbonara whilst my partner decided on the tomato pasta. My carbonara turned out to taste like easy mac, whilst my partner only giving her pasta an average score. We both got a latte which was really nice, alongside a croissant. This alongside a really attentive staff member managed to save this from the 2/5 score. We also paid more than we expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Bar Verde also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Bar Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.