We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Verde

Bar Verde
Calle de le rasse 4525, 4525 Venice, Italy (Castello)
Improve this listing
Ranked #875 of 1,216 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Castello
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Our first meal in Venice. I myself decided on the carbonara whilst my partner decided on the tomato pasta. My carbonara turned out to taste like easy mac, whilst my partner only giving her pasta an average score. We both got a latte which was really nice, alongside a croissant. This alongside a really attentive staff member managed to save this from the 2/5 score. We also paid more than we expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    12
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sandwiches and pigeons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The place was ok. A sandwich place with good coffee. Very much an Italian place. One of our waiters was a very handsome guy and the one that attended us a very ugly and fat one. :) Very Italian and great for a brunch.

Just beware of the pigeons. The hosts seem to allow pigeons to enter their small place. One of the flew over us and crashed in the window just in front of our coffee. Not a nice thing to see (specially if you don't like this ugly flying things).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
416 helpful votes 416 helpful votes
“Great Coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Busy thoroughfare & cafe but great atmosphere. Handy for breakfast & a cheaper alternative to some of the whopping prices being charged for breakfast at the hotels. Good choice for lunch & a table outside if you can grab it!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It's Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Countering the other reviewers we gave it a try and ate panini for lunch in this place. What is rude for others to us was just Italian and it was courteous enough. One thing it wasn't was pretentious but the price was according to that.

Trust the locals wherever you go, they say, and there were a lot in here.

One funny thing is that pigeons sometimes join you in the inside of the bar but they are also everywhere and they'll be kicked out in no time.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great people watching with an outside table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stopped here for lunch after the Doge's Palace tour. It was close and convenient and in Rick Steve's guidebook. They had a nice selection of salads, pastas, and sandwiches. They also served a good cappuccino. We sate outside and it was a great location for people watching. A little accordian player even came by and serenaded us. Service is quick and curteous at this lunch stop.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Verde also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Bar Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.