We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mini-Moon We Could Have Hoped For...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AD Place Venice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added AD Place Venice to your Saves list
AD Place Venice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco - Fondamenta della Fenice 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 383 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Mini-Moon We Could Have Hoped For...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at AD Place Hotel for our 3 night mini-moon immediately after our wedding. We had such a fantastic time - we stayed in the most romantic red room...we were greeted by T who told us all about the amazing local restaurants which weren't tourist traps, the best bars, the best shops and everything in between.

The room was perfect - nice size, so close to the intimate roof terrace that it was almost our own. Comfy bed, dressing gowns and slippers supplied too.

The roof terrace was amazing - covered by a canvas roof, you can get the sun but there's no better place when there's a storm coming over and you've got a prosecco in your hand - you can also here the men singing on Gondola trips too as they pass the hotel.

Breakfast was good - nice choice of pastries, hot food, coffee and juices as you'd expect. Location is PERFECT - v. close to San Marco but also only 10 mins to Rialto Bridge, 20 mins to Jewish Ghetto and 15 mins to student area.

All in all we could't have hope for more - staff were all SO helpful. Bottle of prosecco just 16EU served with strawberries to the roof terrace - didn't expect that.

Well done AD Place we'll be back!!

ps - only tip for girls - bring your own hair dryer!

Room Tip: The red romantic room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    100
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
52
487
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We loved our 3 night stay at the AD Place. It was easy to find from the Giglio stop on the city-operated boat. There are steps inside, but they put your bags on a little wheel-chair lift, so you don’t have the carry them. The lobby has all the lanterns like in the pictures. We booked a standard double but I don't think we were upgraded as some other folks have reported. We were in the main building. Our room was very small, but the bathroom itself was spacious. The shower was small, but I heard that was the case in other hotels in Venice as well. The biggest issue for me was that there wasn’t a true desk. I typically have to work on vacation, so I like to have a place to set up my laptop. However, I could have worked in one of the common areas had a needed to do so. Everything was super clean and smelled very nice. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were soft. Good pillows as well. the night stands were ample-sized. I loved the slippers - purple and thong-style! They were very comfy and fit better than regular-style hotel slippers. The décor was a little gaudy (it is just like the pictures), but I loved all the purple and it was a fun to look at, even if I wouldn’t choose to decorate my home that way. The key for us was that it was a corner room, and we had two windows with the canal beneath (not the grand canal, but the smaller ones - better in every way), and every 15-20 minutes during the day gondolas would go by with at least one boat that had a singer and accordion player. It was so romantic! I just loved listening from our room.
The hotel is centrally located and a very easy walk to the Rialto Bridge and St. Mark’s square. It is also not a bad walk over to where you can catch a boat to Murano. But I think as long as you are in San Marco you are close to most things. There wasn’t too much super commercial nearby, but there were some nice shops and cute restaurants less than 5 minutes away – maybe 3 minutes – which I think was actually perfect. I think otherwise it would have been too loud and busy.
Breakfast was a little above average compared to a similarly ranked hotel we stayed at in Florence. They would make you espresso drinks, which was a nice touch. And all the pastries were on a heated plate, so they were just slightly warm. They also had pancakes, meat, cheese, rolls, fruit, juices, etc. I stuck to pastries and they were very good (even if the selection wasn’t vast).
The concierge was very nice. Not at all snotty or standoffish. And they were excellent with our things, which I appreciate. I told them we had laptops and ipads in two of bags so they required extra care, and the immediately said they were to be put in their office. I wasn’t worried about them being stolen, but just wanted to make sure they were dropped or put under other bags.
Over all an excellent hotel – I would stay again and I would recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: We were fine in our standard double - upgrade if you will just HATE a small room. I didn't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were two separate groups and we stayed in the annex which was a few blocks from the main hotel. The apartments were incredible. The larger one had a pool table and terraces overlooking the canal, all white theme with incredible high ceilings and floor to ceiling windows. The funky one with pink and green was not as large, but extremely comfortable. Both had mini kitchens and the location is two blocks from the food market in the area. So you can stock up easily. The staff was excellent and extremely helpful in providing tips to restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the annex apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Since I was only staying 2 nights I wanted something central and this great little hotel in San Marco was perfect. Although the single room was small it was beautiful and well laid out. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and very filling. Also from the time I got off the water taxi I was at the hotel in less than 5 minutes!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here after a cruise for one night, and wow - what a location. It's right next to a main route for gondolas and while in our room for parts of the afternoon we would continuously hear the gondolas go by down below outside our window with music and singing. It was really special and actually a bit unbelievable that we were getting this experience from our room.

We had the Agosto (August) room and it was themed purple and the bathroom yellow/white stripes. The bathroom was very spacious, the bedroom spacious enough, and then the entry/foyer had a special hallway to place our bags and came with a large closet with mini fridge. The room had two robes on the bed and even matching purple slippers. How cool! We truly felt like royalty here which was really awesome.

The hotel is small but has some cool areas like the buffet area on the third floor (where we were located) and even had an area above on the roof which we visited but didn't have time to hang out much on (although we wanted to). At night the resort entry is lit up with romantic lanterns and candles which was really nice. And the staff was very helpful and knowledgable which we appreciated. They even helped us make a restaurant reservation and shared some local favorites for more authentic italian food. The hotel takes a little work to find but that's part of the magic of Venice and why you get the gondola experience right outside the main door and outside your room windows!

For a unique/cool room experience and to be close to San Marco square you can't beat this hotel's location and the theming. Would recommend it to friends and family and a nice way to end our cruise vacation.

Chad - 32 - Orlando, FL

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

What a charming funky hotel. Staff was so charming, friendly, and with wonderful tips and suggestions. Room was lovely, the most comfortable bed we had during our 2 week travels in Italy. The window in our room opened to a small canal and we enjoyed the gondolas floating by. I thought I was dreaming when I awake from a nap to a wonderful baritone serenading me. Breakfast was a delight. Cant wait to come back! Location was perfect. Easy walk to San Marco and short walk from the vaporetto stop.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Last March, during carnival, I satyed at one of the apartments they have to rent at the city, and it was fantastic!!! The apartment was recently renewed. All rooms were big, and everything was very beautifull. The location was also great btween Rialt and Piazza San Marco. It could be more clean, but it was ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AD Place Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AD Place Venice

Address: San Marco - Fondamenta della Fenice 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Venice
#26 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AD Place Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your AD Place Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ad Place Venice Hotel Venice
Ad Place Charming Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AD Place Venice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.