We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AD Place Venice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added AD Place Venice to your Saves list
AD Place Venice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco - Fondamenta della Fenice 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel to stay at for sight seeing in Venice. Only a 5-10 minute walk to St Marks Square and easy access to the rest of Venice and the water bus stops. Unique decor inside and lovely bedrooms. We stayed in Maggio and loved it. Overlooks one of the smaller canals with the gondolas going by. Free tea/coffee and biscuits available and the breakfast is good as well. It has a small bar with a good selection of drinks too. Nice roof terrace to enjoy a drink and relax. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend to friends and family and would stay again when in Venice!

Room Tip: The superior room Maggio is extremely spacious with a nice view by the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    124
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
66
518
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at AD Place during a rainy weekend in Venice. It was a lovely hotel, very romantic rooms and we were pleased to have a huge window overlooking the canal below -- we could watch the gondolas pass... or even just the Venetian garbage boats (never have I been so impressed by a garbage truck ;)).

The room was very romantic -- we loved all the furnishings and bedding. Very unique. Everything else I'd say was good, not great. Breakfast was good, but if you came a little late and they were out of something -- they were not refilling it for you. At a hotel of this price, that was a little disappointing. Also, it seems they've opted for style over function in a lot of ways -- very stylish bar upstairs, but unclear if it's staffed or help yourself; very stylish entryway, but sometimes hard to find the front desk person.

All that said, we did like AD Place. The staff was friendly and gave us good recommendations on where to eat and drink, and what to see and do. If this is a huge splurge for you, I'd definitely investigate other options. But if you're intrigued by the decor and looking for a romantic hotel in Venice, this one does the trick.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent 4 nights here on our Honeymoon, and a very nice hotel to spend it in. Location is central but quiet, close enough to walk to most places in minutes but being tucked away from the hustle and bustle is a tranquil haven of peace. Staff were very helpful and attentive, and the no children policy ensures all guests have the same objective. Room was comfortably furnished, bed was great and the bathroom, whilst small, was well equipped. Breakfast came with a good choice of different options, but when it was gone it was gone for that day. Not a problem we encountered ourselves, but did hear some of the later breakfast arrivals commenting. Would recommend for a quiet romantic break

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room with a great view over a canal. Didn't see any other rooms, but looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

tucked away in a quiet side street is the ad place.more expensive than we usually pay,but good value in venetian terms.
the room had a great bed,and came with a view over the waterway.
the breakfast here will satisfy most tastes,but the best thing about this hotel is the staff.
from the charming front desk team to the lovely Kamal on night duty,nothing was too much trouble.
recommended.

Mike and Rene

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a weekend staying at the Ad Place and we enjoyed our stay immensely. The location is great as it's only 5 mins max from the closest vaporetto stop. It's also vet central so walking and exploring is easy. The staff were helpful and our room was very pleasant (we were in December). Only criticism would be that the breakfast options, though nice, we're limited; I would have struggled to stay for longer than a short break. Also lots of stairs so caution if this is an issue. Would happily stay again

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the AD place for our wedding anniversary last week. We had advised the hotel in advance that its a special occasion, however we found that we were booked into the worst room in the hotel which was on 4th Floor in the attic and nothing special was arranged by the hotel at all during our stay. The room was right next to the main air con generator for the whole building which was very noisy. Our room was always boiling hot and if we turned on the AC then it sounded like the room was about to take off! The bathroom was not really the standard I would expect of a 4* hotel as it contained old bits of random furniture which were just left in one corner without any real purpose, the towels were also often dirty. The room itself was really uncomfortable because of the heat and also the TV was pointless as there were only 2 english channels available, the room also looked run down and many of the lights didnt work as the bulbs were blown and not replaced. The wardrobe and the safe were also both broken. The breakfast was nice but basic and very quiet every morning in the breakfast area - and awkward to have any kind of conversations with my husband! As we stayed on the top floor, we had to climb 4 flights of stairs to get to our room and after a long day walking around venice its a killer! We had researched all the hotels in Venice before booking this one and it was also recommended by a friend but I am sorry to say it didnt live up to the hype. We have stayed at far better 4* hotels that actually warrant the money and spoil their guests on special occasions. The only reason I have given it 2 stars is because of its location. In my opinion there are far better hotels to stay at in Venice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our anniversary trip and we loved it. We were upgraded to the suite which was awesome. Light with great views of the canals. The ocassional gondola passed beneath our window with the perfect Italian tenor. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel staff was a mixed bag. All were efficient but not overly helpful except for Beatrice who checked us in and was a gem. The place is small with only nine rooms and I don't know what the other rooms were like but if you like intimate and stylish, book the suite and enjoy!

Room Tip: Corner suite a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#81 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#27 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#25 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
San Marco
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#29 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#67 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AD Place Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AD Place Venice

Address: San Marco - Fondamenta della Fenice 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#50 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AD Place Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your AD Place Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ad Place Venice Hotel Venice
Ad Place Charming Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AD Place Venice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.