We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulent high design, well sited and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AD Place Venice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added AD Place Venice to your Saves list
AD Place Venice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco - Fondamenta della Fenice 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 383 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Opulent high design, well sited and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you’re fond of gorgeous fabrics in purple and green, gilt mirrors, silver sofas, and aspirations towards Versace, then this hotel is for you. It’s actually just on the right side of kitsch, and, anyway, opulence is what you look for in Venice. I wouldn’t indulge in this kind of style at home, but it’s glorious for a day or two.

In fact, nothing about AD Place is thoughtless or careless. So consciously well-designed is the hotel that you might find yourself asking for practical cutlery at breakfast, since what passes for a spoon isn’t much good for eating a bowl of cereal. That aside, and the execrable scrambled eggs (I’ve only once seen worse, a kind of scrambled egg ‘loaf’ at a hotel in France) this is a comfortable, clean, joyful hotel, tucked away in a backwater just behind La Fenice. The staff are kind and helpful. I would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    100
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
52
487
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I loved everything about the atmospheric AD Place. The funky ambience, my room, the lounge bar that doubled as the breakfast room, the charming lighting in the evening, the chocolates, delicious breakfast, on tap beverages around the clock, the location, the mix of modern and traditional furniture and fittings . In other words, loved everything about it and not forgetting the sunny January weather and the gondoliers singing below my bedroom window too.

I was expecting amazing and I was not disappointed (except for the non arrival of the prepaid Happy Hour on most evenings). Breakfast was superb with plenty of yummy choices. My room although on the small side was lovely and cheerful. The Bathroom was pretty good too.

Location was fantastic for easily getting around the sights of Venice, but it was very peaceful and felt safe at night for a single lady.

One word of warning if you are not too agile. This is an old palazzo and there are three flights of stairs to climb as there is no lift, but I found I did not have too much trouble even though I am in my my mid 60's and have arithritic knees. There is a sort of chair lift thingy but for luggage so no lugging heavy cases up and down.

Having stayed about 25 times in Venice over the past 10 years, sometimes at an old favourite hotel or somewhere new, The Ad Place now goes from somewhere new to top of my favourite hotels to stay at in Venice (providing I go in the low season as I fear my budget might not stretch to it in the Spring through to Autumn).

Room Tip: Don't worry, your room will be gorgeous which ever one you get allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon last summer (the end of August) for three nights after our cruise. This was the perfect was to end our honeymoon. The staff was really nice, we loved the location of the hotel, LOVED our room and everything about it. We felt like our room was something out of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. It was the nicest hotel room we have ever been in...I even liked it better than the hotel rooms at the Wynn and Encore in Las Vegas. Such a small, quaint, charming hotel. I loved how they surprised us our first night with a bottle of champagne, fruit, nuts and other snacks. My husband and I also loved the breakfast room and our room was right outside of it. I would recommend this hotel without reservation and I am a very picky person when it comes to hotels. I did a lot of research before choosing the AD Place and I was so happy with my decision. We hope to go back one day.
p.s. we loved how the gondola's woke us up every morning with the men singing and on their guitars. So romantic!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A beautiful tiny hotel, very central, nicely decorated with a good ambience. The staff could not have been more helpful. The buffet breakfast was good, and you could enjoy free tea, coffee and cakes all day. The bed was supremely comfortable. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed there during our winter holiday and it was super From the service to everything, everything was perfect. the rooms were richly furnished and luxurious, the views from the room were great and the service was warm and very friendly. Breakfast in particular was delicious! With a variety of food suitable...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Everything was perfect from start to finish. We were upgraded to the Marzo suite, with windows opening onto a canal backing onto La Fenice with singing gondoliers going past. The staff were very freindly and thoroughly spolied us. Can recommend the Ad programme (drinks and snacks) for 25E each for the duration of your stay. Rooms were beautifully decorated and hotel was in an excellent location. What more can we say -apart from when can we return?!

Room Tip: make sure you book a room/suite with a canal view -marzo was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were extremely pleased with Ad Place. The most outstanding feature of the hotel was the staff! Beatrix, Alessandro, and Neya were so very pleasant, helpful, kind, and friendly. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel's location was extremely convenient.

The hotel features a water taxi landing, but the water taxi service seemed uncertain about how to get there! On the day of our departure, the hotel staff kindly contacted the water taxi service to ensure they knew where to go.

Room Tip: The "ottobre" room was stunning. Reaching it means taking a couple flights of stairs, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AD Place Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AD Place Venice

Address: San Marco - Fondamenta della Fenice 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Venice
#26 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AD Place Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your AD Place Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ad Place Venice Hotel Venice
Ad Place Charming Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AD Place Venice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.