We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AD Place Venice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added AD Place Venice to your Saves list
AD Place Venice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco - Fondamenta della Fenice 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here during our summer holiday and it was super! From the service, to the rooms, everything was perfect. It was like being in a fairytale: the rooms were richly furnished and luxurious, the views from the room were picturesque and the service was warm and very friendly. Breakfast in particular was delicious! With a variety of food suitable for a feast, from fresh fruit, to bacon and eggs, there was something for everyone. I can honestly say, as an avid traveller, that this is the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. It wasn't just somewhere to sleep, it was somewhere to enjoy and to indulge in. Definitely will return! Oh and just to add, we even had a free upgrade to a delux room on our arrival! Just brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are glad this is the best hotel you've ever stayed at, feel free to come back anytime!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    100
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
52
487
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at AD Place and it was a very enjoyable stay.

Check-in & Staff

Although we arrived after 10pm at night, staff were expecting us and check-in was quick and efficient. We had booked a Classic Double room but after the first night we were upgraded to a Superior Double room.

We were shown to our room and once settled they recommended a local restaurant for a late night dinner. Their tip was a good choice!

Throughout our stay we found staff to be very friendly and extremely helpful – nothing was too much hassle.

Rooms

We were in a Classic Double for the first night. The décor was as we expected from their website – quirky and colourful! The room was nicely finished and while the bedroom area was on the small side there was a separate dressing area and the shower room was very large.

We were then upgraded to a Superior Double which was significantly bigger and had a four poster bed. Interestingly the shower room was much smaller but still ample for our requirements. The showers in both rooms were very good, particularly the Classic Double room.

Wifi was also provided free of charge which in my opinion is the way it should be at all hotels. Whilst I had issues getting connected to my iPad, I was able to connect to my iPhone without issue.

Breakfast

A buffet breakfast was included in the price of the room. There was ample selection to cater to all requirements – cereals, fruit, breads, pastries, eggs, bacon, etc. Personally we had no complaints about the breakfast.

Location

This is one of the great strengths of the hotel. Located in San Marco, the hotel is only a 5/10 min walk to St Marks Square and indeed not that much further to many of the major sites. It was very easy to get around Venice from the hotel and there were a number of good restaurants in the immediate area.

Overall

If we were to return to Venice we would most definitely consider AD Place again, the only reason we would probably not stay there would be price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Ross,

thank you for your extremely complete review. It was a pleasure to welcoming you and your partner, and we hope to be able to welcoming you again in the future. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly if you mean to come back.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at AD Place. All the hotel staff were very helpful, well informed and gave some great restaurant recommendations. I loved the unusual decor of the hotel. Had a very welcoming feel and looked particularly great at night when they light all the lanterns.

Location couldnt be better. Down a quiet lane so no noise from passing tourists and only a 5 minute walk to St Mark's Square. Close to all the designer shops so ideal for a bit of people watching too.

Breakfast was great with a vast selection of food to choose from. I went for the fresh pastries every day.

We arrived the day after the bad flood but you'd have never known. They moved us to another room due to the flooding (a free upgrade) so we ended up in the best room in the place.

The whole stay was great. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something a bit different and less stuffy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Mrs. Danielle,

thank you for your review and for your flattering comments. We are glad you enjoyed the upgrade we gave you and the hotel in general.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice hotel located in a very quiet place but near to the most important sites, like S.Marco's square and Rialto bridge. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The whole hotel is very carefully decorated with traditional colours and furniture. The breakfast is complete. Finally the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: prefer superior rooms which are larger than classic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for writing us this beautiful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at AD Place.

We hope to welcome you again in the future,

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asbury park, new jersey
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is SO Unique, so it might not be for everyone, but my husband and I really loved it. Our hotel opened up to the BACK of the La Fenice Opera House right on the canal. It is a WONDERFUL location just steps from Saint Mark's. That being said, its VERY helpful to have a hotel so close to these major attractions because its easy to get LOST in Venice! The rooms are named after the months and we stayed in Aprile which is my birthday so I was very happy. Our room was located just off the breakfast room so it was perfect. Breakfast is included and we're still talking about the italian brie, fresh squeezed juice and coffee. Breakfast was DELICIOUS! The hotel is funky, hip and comfortable. Our room was purple striped wallpaper and a blue chandelier with velvet pillows and a satin bedspread. There is a silver couch in the breakfast room with a Marilyn Monroe coffee table....pure eclectic funk! Our room had a "skinny" bathroom, but it all worked. That being said, they have a water system in the bathroom designed to use shower water to flush the toilets. It is a GREAT way to conserve water, but it makes a lot of noise. I almost jumped out of my skin the first time I heard this mechanism. I never really got used to it, but it was for a good cause! The hotel doesn't have an elevator, but it does have assistance and a mechanism to get people and luggage upstairs. The hotel is in a 500 plus year old palace but modern and old at the same time. At night we opened our window onto the canal and listened to the gondoliers singing and playing as they went by.....so romantic! Loved this place and would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for Aprile! Its a lovely room with a view of the back of La Fenice and the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you for writing this kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our beautiful room Aprile. We really wish you will come back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel - the staff are so helpful and friendly and speak great English.

The best hotel breakfast I have ever had!! So much choice and all so delicious - free coffees and pastries also available throughout the day.

The bedrooms are uniquely decorated and lovely and quiet. We had a beautiful room 'Maggio' overlooking the canal. The room was large with the biggest comfiest bed! The room had everything you need and was turned out to a fantastic standard every day.

We were there for the floods on Sunday - and the Hotel were nothing but helpful and kind - we ended up checking out later and were allowed to keep our bags upstairs out of the floods etc.

The location is great we walked everywhere from the Hotel - it is on a quiet pretty section of the Canal at the back of the Theatre.

5* for service and comfort and breakfast!! I would definitely stay here again if I were to go back!

The only negative (which I do not blame on the hotel at all) was they recommended us to go to a restaurant calledc 'A Beccafico' near the hotel and the staff were unbelievably rude!!! I put this down to the fact we weren't Italian But if you are recommended to go there I would strongly advise against it!

All in all a fantastic stay, so thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you for taking the time in writing this review. Thank you for your flattering comments and for your patience during the floods. We hope to welcome you soon, maybe with a better weather!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

One of the most unique hotels I've ever stayed in. Fresh flowers in the bedroom, fun and romantic decorating and perfect location. They also provided the most amazing full breakfast we had on our trip. Highly recommend it and hope to be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for writing this beautiful review, we hope you'll be back!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AD Place Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AD Place Venice

Address: San Marco - Fondamenta della Fenice 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Venice
#26 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AD Place Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your AD Place Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ad Place Venice Hotel Venice
Ad Place Charming Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AD Place Venice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.