We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AD Place Venice

Save Saved
You added AD Place Venice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AD Place Venice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco - Fondamenta della Fenice 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 382 hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel - the staff are so helpful and friendly and speak great English.

The best hotel breakfast I have ever had!! So much choice and all so delicious - free coffees and pastries also available throughout the day.

The bedrooms are uniquely decorated and lovely and quiet. We had a beautiful room 'Maggio' overlooking the canal. The room was large with the biggest comfiest bed! The room had everything you need and was turned out to a fantastic standard every day.

We were there for the floods on Sunday - and the Hotel were nothing but helpful and kind - we ended up checking out later and were allowed to keep our bags upstairs out of the floods etc.

The location is great we walked everywhere from the Hotel - it is on a quiet pretty section of the Canal at the back of the Theatre.

5* for service and comfort and breakfast!! I would definitely stay here again if I were to go back!

The only negative (which I do not blame on the hotel at all) was they recommended us to go to a restaurant calledc 'A Beccafico' near the hotel and the staff were unbelievably rude!!! I put this down to the fact we weren't Italian But if you are recommended to go there I would strongly advise against it!

All in all a fantastic stay, so thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you for taking the time in writing this review. Thank you for your flattering comments and for your patience during the floods. We hope to welcome you soon, maybe with a better weather!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    457
    85
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
43
456
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

One of the most unique hotels I've ever stayed in. Fresh flowers in the bedroom, fun and romantic decorating and perfect location. They also provided the most amazing full breakfast we had on our trip. Highly recommend it and hope to be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for writing this beautiful review, we hope you'll be back!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place is truly a gem. I just spent 3 nights and hated to leave. The minute you walk through their doors you're greeted with a pleasant aroma (citrus-floral scent) and a welcome "Hello." The handsome gentleman at reception was very welcoming, carried my luggage to my room (up 3 flights of stairs, no lift), and told me if I needed anything to not hesitate to ask. He was very helpful helping me figure out which train to take to Verona and the schedule, as well providing recommomdations for my stay in Venice.
My room had a lovely purple color scheme, was clean, had a wonderfully comfortable bed (a perfect firmness), good a/c, great modern bathroom and the room was just the right size (a tad small by U.S. standards, but I found it comfortable and quaint).
I loved everything about this place: ambiance, location, distance to vaporetto (less than 5 minute walk to the Giglio stop), Fenice Theatre just around the corner and St. Mark's just a short stroll away. I am already planning my next trip to Venice just so I can stay at the AD Place again. Did I mention their complimentary breakfast? Perfect! Just the right amount of pastries, meat & cheese options, bread, cereal, fruit, yogurt and juices. A perfect way the fuel up before you set out on your Venetian adventure.
Best advice I can give: use the Giglio vaporetto stop (keep walking straight, through the small square, keep walking, then turn left, walk a few feet & there's the AD Place).

Room Tip: Bed was firm (I like a firm bed), but not too firm. Just a heads up, since some people prefer softer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

it was such a pleasure to welcoming you here. Thank you for pointing out the decor, the easy location and the breakfast spread. If you mean to come back, please write us directly.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just spent 4 nights at the AD Place. The location is great about half way between San Marco and the Accadamia bridge with a vaporetto stop (Giglio) less than 5 minutes walk away.
Very friendly welcome and all the staff at reception friendly and helpful happy to recommend restaurants (good recommendations!). Coffee, tea, biscuits and pastries are available all day if needed and very welcome on arrival after a long journey.
Breakfast really excellent fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries, cereals, breads, hot things too if wanted.
The room we had was on a corner with a window overlooking a canal on 2 sides. One of the fun things was hearing the gondolas going passed sometimes with musical accompaniment!
The only thing that may be a problem to some is that the breakfast room and most of the rooms are up 2 floors and as it's an historic building no lift. There is a stair lift used for suitcases and it maybe possible for a person to use.
The only other problem, nothing to do with the hotel but a problem of being by water was the mosquitoes, take mozzy killer!
Overall this is excellent and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for spending some time in writing this review. We thank you also for giving future guests useful advices about stairs and mosquitos.

Our warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisades Park, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cozy, charming, quiet boutique hotel with wonderful helpful staff. We had a 1 bedroom large room upstairs on same floor as breakfast room. It was quiet, immaculate and beautifully appointed. Also breakfast was plentiful and perfect.
This hotel is hard to find though but once you do, you will not be sorry! Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for writing this review, your words are very flattering and you're welcome whenever you decide to come back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our family spent 5 nights at AD Place at the end of October 2012 and were extremely pleased with the accommodations, location and service. Walking distance to most major sights in Venice, this cozy, colorful hotel captures the spirit of the city. Most importantly, all the members of the staff were incredibly helpful, welcoming and good-natured. The breakfasts were generous and tasty. We definitely look forward to returning to Venice and this hotel. Thank you Ad Place for making our trip especially memorable!- Lydia and Family

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, try booking a room on the lower floors. We were on the top floor wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Mrs. Lydia,

it was a pleasure to welcoming you and your family recently. We are glad you had a nice stay although the high tide may have changed your plans a bit. Thank you also for the praise for the staff, we appreciated it a lot!

See you soon, hopefully.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple nights before heading off to Rome while on vacation. This is a very nice boutique hotel that is tucked away while still being close to the primary activities of Venice. The staff was very friendly and helpful, in fact when we checked in we got some great tips on places that are off the beaten path and not crowded with tourists.

The hotel is small and doesn't have an elevator because the building is classified as historic and can't be modified. The staff was helpful with getting our luggage both to and from our room since I was on a crutch and there is even a lift in the stairs that can be used as well. The room was spacious for Europe and it was very well kept and nicely appointed. The evenings were quiet and we were never bothered by any noises so we slept well during our stay. The hotel also has a breakfast that is included, which was good, a variety of tasty food, fruits, parties, yogurts, meat, cheeses, etc, a very nice layout. Upon our departure the hotel staff was very pro-active in notifying us of transportation strike with the water buses which allowed us to make alternate plans so as not to miss our train. We definitely enjoyed our stay and would stay here again the next time we are in Venice, very pleased with the experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adplacestaff, Direttore at AD Place Venice, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you for writing this very complete review, it has been a pleasure to welcoming you and taking care of you and your wife. We are hopeful to seeing you again!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AD Place Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AD Place Venice

Address: San Marco - Fondamenta della Fenice 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#27 Family Hotel in Venice
#27 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AD Place Venice 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your AD Place Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ad Place Venice Hotel Venice
Ad Place Charming Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AD Place Venice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.