We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gem of a hotel is a great area of Venice :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Vite Dorata

Save Saved
You added Alla Vite Dorata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alla Vite Dorata
Cannaregio 4690/B, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 417 Venice B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely gem of a hotel is a great area of Venice :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel, in a three bed room with friends.

I loved this hotel and cannot recommend it enough. It's in the Cannaregio area of Venice, right on a canal and feels less touristy than other areas we visited. When we arrived, the lady who works there was super friendly and helpful - a lovely welcome.
Our room was light, cool and beautifully decorated. As soon as I opened the window, a gondola went by and I got a wink from a gondolier. I was a happy bunny! :)

The hotel is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The area is great and you can wander anywhere in Venice, finding your way back easily. There is a small supermarket nearby and plenty of restaurant options. Breakfast is simple but lovely and served in a pleasant dining area - the most coveted table is on a small veranda on the canal, but you've got be early to get that one!!

Also, we didn't need to use it, but I noticed that the hotel has good access for wheelchair users and, as all of the rooms are on ground-floor level, I expect there are rooms that would also be suitable.

Overall, this place helped make our stay in Venice a very enjoyable one. I would highly recommend this hostel and when I return to Venice, I will try to stay here again :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
108
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I just loved everything about this hotel, we had just come from Lljubljana and an old school slightly dingy but character filled hostel and this place really was like an oasis. It was the most expensive hostel we stayed in but we loved the private bathroom, fine furnishings, good quality bed clothes, quiet location, excellent air conditioning and the lady on reception was really lovely. I also really enjoyed the tasteful breakfast and little ringo the dog who was poddling about (but I encouraged this as he was so nice, he stayed well out of the way otherwise) I havent stayed in that many hostels/hotels really so I dont have masses to compare the breakfast too but I thought the one here was one of the best on our trip, I loved the hot crossants and pastries and the room was so quaint, we were lucky our first morning to get the table on the balcony which led out onto a canal so we had little boats passing us, very blissful all round I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed with Aleksandra at Alla Vite Dorata for two nights in September and found the place to be everything we expected and more. The room very nice and with a great canal view, and we were allowed to check into our room upon our early 11:30am arrival which was extremely helpful to us.

The second day of our stay was my girlfriend's 21st birthday, and we were greeted by a bottle of prosecco, chocolates and a candle in our room which was a lovely touch and made the day that bit more special. The breakfast was lovely and for our early departure on our last day Aleksandra provided us with some breakfast and coffee that we could help ourselves to before we left. Again this was another lovely personal touch which made an already fantastic place to stay even better.

It was also in a great location, in a quiet part of town but close enough to the main attractions. We walked from Piazzale Roma (coach station) upon our arrival and this took no more than about 25 minutes.

All in all, a great place - highly recommended. We will definitely be returning the next time we visit Venice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at Alla Vite Dorata for 2 nights in August 2012; this place is amazing. We are the family of 4 and had the Blue Room that had bunk beds in the entrance area and a queen size bed that is half separated from the entrance area. The room is very nicely decorated, the bathroom is big and very nice; this room has a window right above the water, the canal view from the room is great.

Room Tip: Not all room shave the canal view; only some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this lovely boutique bed and breakfast with only six rooms pre-cruise, and we were delighted by so many aspects of the property.

First of all, the location of the property on the North side of Venice Island means several things: It is very close to Fondamente Nuove, one of the first stops for the Alilaguna Water Bus (15 Euro per person from the airport); second there are far fewer tourists here so it's easy to find uncrowded water taxis (ACTV) that can take you anywhere, third the canal adjacent to the hotel gives you a much more personal view of Venetian life than the Grand Canal.
Additionally, the property owner Alexandra is very helpful, finding us a needed outlet adapter and a post office.

The rooms are a bit small but adequate, and the breakfast was quite good (just don't expect eggs and bacon...this is an Island after all). The breakfast room opens up into the canal and has a single outside table...usually available if you're up by 8:30 when breakfast starts.

The hotel has free wi-fi and is in a safe location (all of Venice is safe) but there was something about the property that makes you feel at peace.

Finally if you are continuing on to a cruise, all you have to do is go back to Fondamente Nuove where the airport water bus dropped you off, take ACTV water taxi 51 or 41 to the Piazzele Roma stop, and hop on the "People Mover" tram (1 euro) to the pier.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This place is absolutley stunning. The rooms are gorgeous and are more than adequate for a city break. The location I think is perfect and if you follow the directions you can't go wrong. Air con, much needed in the heat, clean rooms and free wifi!

The staff are fantastic, its seems nothing it to much. Breakfast was simple but more than sufficient and the fresh coffee and never ending orange jucie and pastries would have no hesitations recommending this little gem.

We were able to check in early and leave our bags safely during the day until our night flight home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked a canal view room for a relaxing few nights at the end of our holiday. Our room was beautiful, the air conditioning was powerful (and well needed) and the hospitality was brilliant. The breakfast in the morning was really nice (fresh croissants) and the quaint canal view really brought Venice to life. Definitely note down the instructions from the website before you arrive as otherwise you might find it tough to find!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alla Vite Dorata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Vite Dorata

Address: Cannaregio 4690/B, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 417 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and charming first class inn, just restored, is situated in the heart of Venice historic core, two steps from Rialto bridge and 10 minutes from St. Mark’s square, on the picturesque Venetian canal.The Santi Apostoli Neighborhood offers a great variety of restaurants and eateries to enjoy the original Venetian cuisine. Exciting shopping opportunities also await in the vicinity.Our rooms are furnished with care and each room is different from the others.They all have original ceiling beams, perfectly restored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Alla Vite Dorata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Vite Dorata Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Vite Dorata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.