We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exquisite Italian food experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Antico Giardinetto

Osteria Antico Giardinetto
Calle dei Morti 2253, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
041-722882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 1,204 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Osteria Antico Giardinetto is a cosy, charming family-run restaurant near Campo San Cassiano offering typical Venetian and creative fish, meat and vegetarian dishes freshly prepared to order.
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An exquisite Italian food experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This restaurant served up the most fresh, delicious and beautifully presented meal that you can't just eat there once... We went back a second night.
Also they will cater for and ensure that any gluten free (senza gluten) diner is not left disappointed and looking on as others enjoy the delicious freshly made desserts. Chocolate Mousse and Pannacotta never tasted so good!!
The service was excellent, the wines offered of good quality and on both occasions we left feeling we had experienced something special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    215
    64
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Came for my wife's special birthday and we were not disappointed. Wonderful food and wine served perfectly by the lovely hostess. A real gem of a place and worth looking for - quiet and romantic. Just excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Been for dinner there with my husband after reading the review; have to say food is good however not excellent.
Good thing: The seafood was fresh.
Fyi: there cover charge of ?2 per person.
The other restaurant serve good food for less.



Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not easy ro find but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place is hidden in a small alley so take your map when going there. We ate sea food and it was excellent, so fresh! Also, the chocolate moose is to die for. Definitely a must!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food here was just delicious and the service was very friendly and attentive. I wasn't initially too sure about the decor when we peaked in from the street, but when we went back later in the evening we realised that this was just the patio area that was closed for winter! The inside of the restaurnt itself was lovely and had a homely feel. As for the food - it was delicious - we had the scallop and artichoke pasta, followed by the grilled fish, a beef dish and chocolate mousse. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Antico Giardinetto also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Antico Giardinetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Antico Giardinetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.