We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dona Onesta

Dona Onesta
Dorsoduro, 3922, 30123 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
041 710586
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #343 of 1,193 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Polo
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a great place to eat for cheap in Venice, go here! I went with a friend and split three courses and a wine decanter for about 20 euros a piece. Service was pretty friendly and the food was great. Would eat here again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    114
    29
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Josselin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Just got in from eating there. My spagetti was hot and tasty. My husband had the sole. His choice for dessert was not ready.

Sort of meal you would cook yourself. Except my pudding would be ready.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to other peoples comments”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We decided to visit this restaurant following comments on trip adviser. An attractive restaurant by one of the canals with window boxes and a pleasant atmosphere. Could be difficult to find. I had shrimps with lemon on a bed of lettuce and my husband had bruschette neither were very exciting, for main we had john dory (fish) cooked in breadcrumbs, it was very bland, my husband had spaghetti with seafood which was nice together with dessert and a bottle of wine and limoncello it came to 88 euros ( this included 10% service charge and a cover charge) which we thought was expensive and not good value for money. We accept we were in Venice and Venice can be expensive. So be prepared

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb Local/Out of the Way Restaurant and an Adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We found this unique restaurant by accident, then discovered it was TA-rated! (how fun!) It just looked like a great restaurant on a small canal, with flower boxes along the windows.

We were starving, so stopped in and asked for a table. We were a bit concerned because the restaurant was empty, but the manager (owner?) seated us. They were scurrying around, setting up for a large party. Two parties actually!

Turns out we were in Venice for the graduation of a local university. The locals have a unique way to celebrate graduation with family and friends... The graduates dress in unusual character costumes (pirates, scholars, animals, etc) and all seem to wear garlands of laurel leaves in their hair and have a big dinner parties!

We had the most amazing local food, and were vastly entertained by the party of 20+ family and friends who arrived to congratulate the recent graduates.

We highly recommend this excellent restaurant for its great service and superb food (all sorts of local dishes, including seafood, pasta, etc, plus great desserts), and sometimes great entertainment!

Our motto of "if the locals go there often, ifs probably good!" continues to prove successful--especially if there's a TA sticker on the door with a good rating!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great little restaurant in the Dorsoduro, serving generous portions of classic Italian dishes and an excellent Valpolicella - recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dona Onesta also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Dona Onesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dona Onesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.