We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accidental find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museo di Storia Naturale

Museo di Storia Naturale
Santa Croce 1730, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Croce)
+39 041 2750206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 197 Attractions in Venice
Type: Libraries, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the Fontego dei Turchi Palace at the Grand Canal, the museum is an institution that coordinates and conducts scientific research in the territory, ensuring the maintenance and increase of scientific collections, organizing educational activities and services to the citizens. The new, evocative and engaging layout has a modern and original museological facility.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great accidental find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just happened to see the signs as we strolled around the city. This turned out to be a real gem as it had amazing exhibits and an interactive feature that demonstrated the procreation, growth etc of nature. Some of the exhibits are a little freaky as they are of stuffed animals (very life-like) and shrunken heads. Otherwise a gorgeous museum. Just be aware that almost all signage is in Italian but not too difficult to figure it out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    84
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun place to spend a few hours.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Great museum, but be aware that none of the displays are in English. With this in mind, it is a wonderful little museum. The later exhibits, with the traditional pinned insects, and curiosities in formaldehyde are especially different for most modern museum goers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great, but not a Necessary Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My sister and I really enjoyed the museum, but I'm a scientist and she works in a similar museum, so I would say we're biased. The museum isn't large, but it's been redone recently and the displays are really great-looking. You can borrow an English booklet with a good part of the label texts for free (leaving an ID as a guarantee). We were a little disappointed that the gift shop was closed for lunch as my sister wanted to buy the museum guide book. We were there on a quiet day, some school groups were there but we didn't see other tourists. I think this is generally a skip-able sight, unless you are into natural history museums or have school-age children in your group.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
283 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Impressive range of displays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We first saw and admired this wonderful palazzo from a Grand Canal vaporetta. We were interested to discover that it was constructed in the first half of the 13th century. From the early 17th century it was one of the busiest corporate offices for Venice’s most important trading partners, Turkey; it was known as the Fondaco dei Turchi. Its decorative arches and roofline of triangles are most attractive.

Today it houses the comprehensive and engaging displays of the Natural History Museum. The exhibits are on a number of floors and are beautifully presented in the renovated spaces. It features a great dinosaur skeleton. Other rooms cover bird life, mammals and a detailed range of fossils such as ammonites.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Musium but take an Itallian speaker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Venice Natural History Musium is a little eccentric, from the selection hunters trophies (complete with stern photo of the hunter) to the plasticised autopsies in process its not always for the squeemish. We spent about an hour and a half viewing the musium (its set up as one long guided tour) and definatly enjoyed it. Although not as big as natural history musiums in larger cities it definatly had an eccentric charm about it and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a break from the Renesaunce for an hour or two.
Word of warning: the musium is almost entierly in itallian but there are one or two bilingual exhibits indicating this will change in the future, if you have an Itallian speaker in your group like we did, you'll get a lot more out of the musium.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo di Storia Naturale also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Museo di Storia Naturale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo di Storia Naturale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.