We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Musium but take an Itallian speaker” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museo di Storia Naturale

Museo di Storia Naturale
Santa Croce 1730, 30125 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)
+39 041 2750206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 346 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the Fontego dei Turchi Palace at the Grand Canal, the museum is an institution that coordinates and conducts scientific research in the territory, ensuring the maintenance and increase of scientific collections, organizing educational activities and services to the citizens. The new, evocative and engaging layout has a modern and original museological facility.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Musium but take an Itallian speaker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Venice Natural History Musium is a little eccentric, from the selection hunters trophies (complete with stern photo of the hunter) to the plasticised autopsies in process its not always for the squeemish. We spent about an hour and a half viewing the musium (its set up as one long guided tour) and definatly enjoyed it. Although not as big as natural history musiums in larger cities it definatly had an eccentric charm about it and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a break from the Renesaunce for an hour or two.
Word of warning: the musium is almost entierly in itallian but there are one or two bilingual exhibits indicating this will change in the future, if you have an Itallian speaker in your group like we did, you'll get a lot more out of the musium.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    100
    12
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tucson, az
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were quite impressed by this museum and spent a good ninety minutes here and ended up buying a guide book of the museum before we left. The museum is inventively done in a very good way (I came away wishing more museums were this inventive)- and easy to understand even if (like us) you don't know Italian so can't read many of the signs.

The rooms with all of the hunting trophies might be a little hard to see these days when people think more of conservation and less of big game hunting, but they are easy to walk through quickly if you don't want to linger.

A definite highlight was the start with the Ouranosaurus skeleton.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A hidden (and cheap) gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We took two children there today for a few hours - mainly as it was included on the museum card that we bought for €20 as opposed to the one off entry of €16 for the Doges Palace on its own. It's a little tricky to find, best way is on line 1 boats to S.Stae and then just a few mins walk. The museum has recently been renovated and is well laid out and modern, lots to look, some things to touch. There are plenty of dinosaurs and sea creatures as well as the usual assortment of 'regular' animals. There are many stuffed animals too so you may/may not like that.

All in all an excellent little museum worth checking out if you have children.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I went here expecting that the museum would focus on the natural history of Veneto or even Italy but in fact it is a general purpose natural history museum with the requisite dinasour bones and prehistoric fossils. So unless you are a paleontology nut you might not be happy you spent your time here.

The llayout of the first part is quite stylish and creative, so I enjoyed that. They have some early hominid skulls that were interesting. The second half of the museum was all about stuffed animals and insects in cases and items of that ilk. Not of interest to me. A huge positive is the large garden with many benches that front the museum, where anyone passing by can rest.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Our 4yrs old son enjoyed the museum very much and he was very happy to see dinasour bones.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo di Storia Naturale also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Museo di Storia Naturale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo di Storia Naturale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.