We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a visit to Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego
Cannaregio 1414/a | Rio Terà Farsetti, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 444 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location for a visit to Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Located in Cannaregio which proved to be an excellent location as the area is quite affordable compared to area around St Marks. Lots of nice restaurants and shops and the market nearby. The hotel has very ornate rooms, each is different. We were in the Apollo room which overlooks the road outside. Not at all noisy and very spacious and comfortable. Georgia the hostess was very pleasant and helpful. Only issue was the breakfast that was all out of plastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that suits your needs. They will accommodate your requirements if they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
62
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa rosa california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Antico Portego is 100% the hidden treasure of all of Europe, we arrived one day early in Venezia with no room and hit the lottery by obtaining a room in this bed & breakfast. We were greeted by the owner who presented us with a gift upon check in a lovely keychain and necklace, candles lit the entry way to this magnificent home filled with family heirlooms and beautiful furniture. The room was large and beautiful beyond words we gazed up at a beautiful venetian chandelier surrounded by a painting, the home was cozy with a lovely family feeling, Our breakfast was delicious I highly recommend this hidden treasure of a bed and breakfast. I was extremely sad to have to leave and stay in the rundown overpriced noisy Hotel Rialto I only wish we could have stayed the entire visit at Antico Portego,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Antico Portego was the nicest room we stayed in on our entire honeymoon. The room was HUGE and we were able to really enjoy the city because of the location. The owners daughter (Georgia I think?) was incredibly kind! She helped us and gave us lots of great reccomendations. We absolutely fell in love with Venice and would definitely return to Antico Portego.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

A piece of fairy tale . Beautiful , clean , welcoming and charming . The owners are extremely nice . They even offered to share their food with us while they were throwing a dinner in their garden .
Rooms are huge ! perfect views and peaceful . Absolutely recommend it .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Fantastic B&B. Every room we saw was amazing, beautifully decorated and restored. The atmosphere was peaceful and quiet, a contrast to the busy streets outside. Breakfast choices were good and service always with a smile. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

just spent 5 days in venice in a poorly and old hotel ( if you can call it so). While strolling across venice, we came across this b&b and the owner was kind enough to show us around. Compared to the hotel we where staying, I thought it Antico Portego would cost a fortune,,,,but to our disbelief it costed less!!!! The place is immaculate and perfectly kept. Well done to its owner. If you wnat to experience an unforgettable (positive) experience while in Venice, stay at the antico portego.

Sylvana Camilleri
Malta.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights at the Antico Portego and it was the most fantastic place you could ever wish to stay if you want to experience the traditional Venice away from all the tourist hot spots.
As soon as you walk through the "big red door" you are walking away from the hustle and bustle of Venice and being transported back to the traditional, tranquil and refind splendour of a Venice in years gone by.
The owners of the Antico Portego couldn't have done enough for us. The location is close enough from the heart of Venice life but far anough way that within a 10 minute walk you could escape and have a quiet drink and meal and watch the world go by.
If you want to go to Venice and have a lifetime of memories at a very reasonable price then you must go here!
Thank you all at the Antico Portego!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#19 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,163 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#16 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#49 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,682 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego

Address: Cannaregio 1414/a | Rio Terà Farsetti, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed & breakfast is situated in a typical 16th century palace with two internal courts. The whole house is furnished with ancient family’s pieces and each rooms has a private bathroom. At the ground- floor there is the “candles suite”. At first-floor there are the “yellow room” and the “traders suite” When you are back tired after an interesting day of sightseeing you can rest near the well or under the ancient portico. Il B&B Antico Portègo è situato in un tipico palazzo veneziano del ‘500. Al piano rialzato c’è la “suite delle candele”.Al primo piano ci sono, ognuna con bagno privato, la “camera gialla” la “suite dei mercanti”. Tutta la casa è arredata con mobili antichi e si affaccia su due corti interne. Dopo un’intensa giornata di fatiche turistiche potrete concedervi un po’ di riposo al fresco nel portico o vicino al pozzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.