We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego
Save Saved
You added Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego to your Saves list
Cannaregio 1414/a | Rio Terà Farsetti, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 421 Venice B&B and Inns
Floyd, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Antico Portego was the nicest room we stayed in on our entire honeymoon. The room was HUGE and we were able to really enjoy the city because of the location. The owners daughter (Georgia I think?) was incredibly kind! She helped us and gave us lots of great reccomendations. We absolutely fell in love with Venice and would definitely return to Antico Portego.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
43
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

A piece of fairy tale . Beautiful , clean , welcoming and charming . The owners are extremely nice . They even offered to share their food with us while they were throwing a dinner in their garden .
Rooms are huge ! perfect views and peaceful . Absolutely recommend it .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Fantastic B&B. Every room we saw was amazing, beautifully decorated and restored. The atmosphere was peaceful and quiet, a contrast to the busy streets outside. Breakfast choices were good and service always with a smile. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

just spent 5 days in venice in a poorly and old hotel ( if you can call it so). While strolling across venice, we came across this b&b and the owner was kind enough to show us around. Compared to the hotel we where staying, I thought it Antico Portego would cost a fortune,,,,but to our disbelief it costed less!!!! The place is immaculate and perfectly kept. Well done to its owner. If you wnat to experience an unforgettable (positive) experience while in Venice, stay at the antico portego.

Sylvana Camilleri
Malta.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights at the Antico Portego and it was the most fantastic place you could ever wish to stay if you want to experience the traditional Venice away from all the tourist hot spots.
As soon as you walk through the "big red door" you are walking away from the hustle and bustle of Venice and being transported back to the traditional, tranquil and refind splendour of a Venice in years gone by.
The owners of the Antico Portego couldn't have done enough for us. The location is close enough from the heart of Venice life but far anough way that within a 10 minute walk you could escape and have a quiet drink and meal and watch the world go by.
If you want to go to Venice and have a lifetime of memories at a very reasonable price then you must go here!
Thank you all at the Antico Portego!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I spent two days at this B&B with my husband and a couple of friends.

Location: lively area with shops and restaurants nearby but also quiet during the night. Easy to find, about 15 minutes walking from Piazza San Marco, 2 minutes walking from a vaporetto stop.

Building/rooms: we stayed on the ground floor of the old building and our friends in a new room in the new part of the hotel. Both rooms were very spacious, well furnished and decorated.

Customer Service: very friendly. We were even presented with a little souvenir. There was candy and water available in the room free of charge. However no internet and they do not take cards!

Breakfast: only available from 8am to 9am - not ideal given that people go to Venice for holidays. However the worst was that the breakfast was comprised mostly of packaged items: even the bread! For people who eat savoury things there was very limited choice in the form of two types of processed cheese! I was very disappointed, particularly given that there was a bakery very close to the hotel. Given that we paid €120 per night I expected to breakfast on fresh bread and cheese/ham. I even asked for a fried egg but this could not be arranged!

Overall impression: too expensive for what it is, even for Venice!

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet as it faced the internal courtyard. However we could hear the guests upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

You would never guess what a palace is behind that red door! This place is absolutely beautiful! I cannot even imagine the work that went into renovating this bed and breakfast. The accommodations are great and the service is wonderful! The breakfast was delicious, one of the best we had. The rooms are huge, clean, and very comfortable. We like the location because it is away form the crowds and still has places to shop and eat nearby. We could even walk to it from the train station. I will recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego

Address: Cannaregio 1414/a | Rio Terà Farsetti, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 421 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed & breakfast is situated in a typical 16th century palace with two internal courts. The whole house is furnished with ancient family’s pieces and each rooms has a private bathroom. At the ground- floor there is the “candles suite”. At first-floor there are the “yellow room” and the “traders suite” When you are back tired after an interesting day of sightseeing you can rest near the well or under the ancient portico. Il B&B Antico Portègo è situato in un tipico palazzo veneziano del ‘500. Al piano rialzato c’è la “suite delle candele”.Al primo piano ci sono, ognuna con bagno privato, la “camera gialla” la “suite dei mercanti”. Tutta la casa è arredata con mobili antichi e si affaccia su due corti interne. Dopo un’intensa giornata di fatiche turistiche potrete concedervi un po’ di riposo al fresco nel portico o vicino al pozzo. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.