We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego
Cannaregio 1414/a | Rio Terà Farsetti, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 444 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

A piece of fairy tale . Beautiful , clean , welcoming and charming . The owners are extremely nice . They even offered to share their food with us while they were throwing a dinner in their garden .
Rooms are huge ! perfect views and peaceful . Absolutely recommend it .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
62
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Fantastic B&B. Every room we saw was amazing, beautifully decorated and restored. The atmosphere was peaceful and quiet, a contrast to the busy streets outside. Breakfast choices were good and service always with a smile. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

just spent 5 days in venice in a poorly and old hotel ( if you can call it so). While strolling across venice, we came across this b&b and the owner was kind enough to show us around. Compared to the hotel we where staying, I thought it Antico Portego would cost a fortune,,,,but to our disbelief it costed less!!!! The place is immaculate and perfectly kept. Well done to its owner. If you wnat to experience an unforgettable (positive) experience while in Venice, stay at the antico portego.

Sylvana Camilleri
Malta.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights at the Antico Portego and it was the most fantastic place you could ever wish to stay if you want to experience the traditional Venice away from all the tourist hot spots.
As soon as you walk through the "big red door" you are walking away from the hustle and bustle of Venice and being transported back to the traditional, tranquil and refind splendour of a Venice in years gone by.
The owners of the Antico Portego couldn't have done enough for us. The location is close enough from the heart of Venice life but far anough way that within a 10 minute walk you could escape and have a quiet drink and meal and watch the world go by.
If you want to go to Venice and have a lifetime of memories at a very reasonable price then you must go here!
Thank you all at the Antico Portego!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
271 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I spent two days at this B&B with my husband and a couple of friends.

Location: lively area with shops and restaurants nearby but also quiet during the night. Easy to find, about 15 minutes walking from Piazza San Marco, 2 minutes walking from a vaporetto stop.

Building/rooms: we stayed on the ground floor of the old building and our friends in a new room in the new part of the hotel. Both rooms were very spacious, well furnished and decorated.

Customer Service: very friendly. We were even presented with a little souvenir. There was candy and water available in the room free of charge. However no internet and they do not take cards!

Breakfast: only available from 8am to 9am - not ideal given that people go to Venice for holidays. However the worst was that the breakfast was comprised mostly of packaged items: even the bread! For people who eat savoury things there was very limited choice in the form of two types of processed cheese! I was very disappointed, particularly given that there was a bakery very close to the hotel. Given that we paid €120 per night I expected to breakfast on fresh bread and cheese/ham. I even asked for a fried egg but this could not be arranged!

Overall impression: too expensive for what it is, even for Venice!

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet as it faced the internal courtyard. However we could hear the guests upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

You would never guess what a palace is behind that red door! This place is absolutely beautiful! I cannot even imagine the work that went into renovating this bed and breakfast. The accommodations are great and the service is wonderful! The breakfast was delicious, one of the best we had. The rooms are huge, clean, and very comfortable. We like the location because it is away form the crowds and still has places to shop and eat nearby. We could even walk to it from the train station. I will recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kroonstad, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We spent 5 glorious nights at Antico Portego
The hosts were fantastic! Always willing to assist and please guests.
The establishment should be renamed, "The Venetian Gem!
The location, spot on!
Thank you Georgio for making our visit to Venice a memorable one.

Any South Africans looking for accommodation in Venice should contact me on [---] or [---]for pointers and to confirm the above.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#19 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#15 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#49 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,689 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego

Address: Cannaregio 1414/a | Rio Terà Farsetti, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed & breakfast is situated in a typical 16th century palace with two internal courts. The whole house is furnished with ancient family’s pieces and each rooms has a private bathroom. At the ground- floor there is the “candles suite”. At first-floor there are the “yellow room” and the “traders suite” When you are back tired after an interesting day of sightseeing you can rest near the well or under the ancient portico. Il B&B Antico Portègo è situato in un tipico palazzo veneziano del ‘500. Al piano rialzato c’è la “suite delle candele”.Al primo piano ci sono, ognuna con bagno privato, la “camera gialla” la “suite dei mercanti”. Tutta la casa è arredata con mobili antichi e si affaccia su due corti interne. Dopo un’intensa giornata di fatiche turistiche potrete concedervi un po’ di riposo al fresco nel portico o vicino al pozzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Antico Portego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.