We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the spaghetti ala vongole” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria alla Scala

Trattoria alla Scala
Corte Lucatello, 571 | S. Marco, Venice, Italy (Castello)
(+39) 0415220767
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #578 of 1,194 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $19 - $135
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Castello
Description: In 1953, just after few years from the ending of the world war II, Lino Pierazzo decided he was going to open a restaurant in the heart of Venice, between S.Marco square and Rialto bridge; starting with just his wife as a cook, he succeeded in making it one of the most popular restaurant of Venice. About fifty years later, his son and daughter keep on his work with a modern group of waiters and cooks.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved the spaghetti ala vongole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The moment we arrived in venice, my husband and i were so hungry as it was past lunch already (330pm). Since all other restaurants were closed at this time, our hotel concierge directed us to this restaurant beside our hotel. And i was very pleased with what i ordered-- the scallops gratin and esp the Spaghetti with clams -- (VONGOLE). To me, this was the best spaghetti vongole i ever had. It had white wine sauce yet sort of creamy and very flavorful.. It was mostly clams than the pasta actually. Service was not bad. The place is touristy and a bit pricey but to me, all i was after was good food and i was happy with mine. We came back again during our last night and had ordered the same .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    46
    24
    12
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Play the Game or Go Elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

So eating in Venice you have to know how to play the game. Restaurants like this one put out a tourist menu. You see the prices and go in and the server hands you the a la carte menu instead of the tourist menu. If you don't want to spend 3 times more than you intended, you politely ask for the tourist menu and order off of that. If you don't want water, you tell the server. If you do, you ask for a bottle with/without gas and don't ask for more. If you want economical wine, you order the house wine by the glass or a half-bottle of an economical wine that is usually at the end of the menu. Even then, you are better off going to a better restaurant where you can eat a la carte more economically and have a more satisfactory experience, like Rosa Rosso, which caters to ex pats, because Trattoria alla Scalla can be filled with Italians who will get more attention and better service and know how to play the game. And frankly, the food just isn't that good--and our concierge recommended it to us, as happened to so many here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Becareful of some recommendations !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I consider myself a well seasoned traveler...but occasionally when weary from traveling we might drop our guards.
Trattoria alla scala was emphatically recommended by our hotel concierge.....just a few steps away !
We were a group of five very tired after a long train trip to Venice.
Our plan was dine early and get up and around the next day.
After the hotel concierge insisted on leading our way to the door of this place...it was just moments that i realized that we were about to get he idiot traveler treatment.

All I can say simply to help my fellow Venetian tourists is !
Pass this place by...
The food and service is horrendous....
Try to complain to a waiter.....you can't ! The will not look up at you !!!
I for one cannot understand how a restaurant like this is allowed to continue to stay in business .
Clearly taking advantage of tourist in that beautiful city.

Oh yes I am sure that the concierge from our hotel was paid off to direct us to this nightmare of a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but too expensive , high service charge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A Trattoria, centrally located near San Marco Square. The waiters were really friendly but we found the food too expensive.14 Euros charged just for service and bread, for 4 people. Then the draft beer was mediocre, in total we paid 30 euros per person for a main course of pasta...the wine bottles were extremely expensive so we did not order any.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Food and Wine Plus Excellent, "Happy" Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was the first evening of our first visit to Venice from California and the restaurant was recommended to my wife and I by our hotel manager in San Marcos. The location is excellent being very close to San Marcos and Rialto and the ambience was wonderful and very "Venetian". The restaurant has a wide menu and two shorter "value" oriented 3 course menus with still a wide range of selections. We dined early and it was very positive to see the staff themselves dining early in the restaurant and enjoying their meals. The staff were very motivated and happy and provided us excellent service. Better still, the food was excellent -served hot with "real" mushroom soup, delicious main courses and deserts, We plan to visit at least one more time before we leave Venice. GREAT JOB to the staff at this restaurant - you should be very proud of being a member of this team.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria alla Scala also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria alla Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria alla Scala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.