We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pontini

Pontini
Centro Storico fondamenta de Cannaregio No. 1268, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
+39 041714123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 1,193 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Venice, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Visited this restaurant based on feedback from others on here. It certainly met expectations.

We had a short wait in the small bar area before we could get a table, but the staff were happy and helpful throughout. A little cheeky to then charge us the table price for drinks when the first ones were consumed at the bar, but this is really the only negative.

Food was delicious, arrived promptly following ordering. Too much aubergine with the side veg, but still a good portion as a side.

Would happily return, but would bear in mind the bar drink price change and the side veg content.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    140
    28
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Absolutely Fantastico!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

After spending 2 days in Venice, it really lived up to the reputation of having mediocre food.... Until we found this little restaurant. Dare I say it was even better than the restaurants we dined at in Rome!!! The food was extremely tasty and the staff (who spoke very little English) we're great. Fabio, the only waiter, was excellent, funny and accommodating. And the chilled red wine... YUMMO!! Reasonably priced and definantly worth eating here!! Do yourself a favour and try this. Probably about 20meters from the Guglie Bridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Our best meal in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

After 10 days in Italy, both my wife and I vote Pontini as our favorite meal.

This is a charming little restaurant (only 24 seats). The staff is warm and friendly. Although he speaks little English, ordering was easy as the menu has full English translation.

The main reason for our title (best meal in Italy) was the seafood pasta. It is amazing and really value for money at only eur14. You have got to try it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were so lucky as Trattoria Bar Pontini was just outside our walkway into our hotel. Its small and we didnt even notice it the first night but tried it the next. Wow! It was so good we went back the third and last night. Its a very buzzy bar/restaurant with locals meeting and drinking inside and standing outside. Had a wonderful waiter who was very quick, efficient and friendly, who hardly spoke english, so we had some fun with that! The most amazingly gnocchi I have ever tasted, but all dishes were to die for, including dessert. Would recommend that you book to guarantee a table, and as you sit there with amazing food and wine you are able to watch the sun set over the water at the end of the canal. Just perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovley locals restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The recent reviews tempted us to visit Pontini as we stayed nearby (Nov 23-26 2013) . We were not disappointed.
We had to use our best Italian whilst there which was great fun but I think we understood each other! The food was delicious, it really was service with a smile and without doubt we would return. €60 meal for 2 courses and side dishes and that included a €20 bottle of wine which I don't think was bad at all.
There are not many tables so in peak holiday season it might be a struggle to get in but we were in early so no problems!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pontini also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Pontini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pontini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.