We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vesuvio

Vesuvio
Centro Storico rio tera Farsetti No. 1837, 30121 Venice, Italy
041795688
Improve this listing
Ranked #649 of 1,198 Restaurants in Venice
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Avoid, avoid, avoid. The food through 4 people was average ( mine was simply awful, one was very good for example), the service downright crap. There was a family of 12 in, kids screaming etc, then a kids football team turned up - so loud and the staff did nothing. Then for main courses, dishes that were supposed to come with potato came without, waitress needed us to point it out in the menu then she seemed to think hat was funny? Oh dear

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    48
    29
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant - excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a wonderfull dinner there. Many people eating there, also many Italians. The food was excellent, many many dishes to choose....Hm.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pizza heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great service, great food (have the three mushroom pizza), good value (for Venice), and lovely lemon cake. Closed on Wednesday.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Be careful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We have been in venice for a five day break and have been to various restaurants. This was recommended by the people we are staying with. We are shown our table, no problem, then someone is seated behind my husband who is asked to move in. We are already in a corner, my husband is 6ft 2" and is getting cramp. Service slow, starter comes but no knife or fork for me. Food good but when the bill comes we find we are being charged for two bottles of wine when we had only one and we are charged for a more expensive wine than the one we had asked for. Having sent the bill back once and not speaking italian we did not argue this one but feel seriouly ripped off. Please be aware of this should you choose to dine here.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
main st
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were here 5 plus years ago and made it a point to return on this trip to Venice. The food, service and quality is first class. I read some of the other reviews and must admitt I had no problems with this restaurant. We loved everything about the restuarant that we made it back 4 times. Good food, prices are not so high, but everything in Vencie is expensive. The location makes this perfect place to spend the evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vesuvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.