We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food and service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Principessa

Ristorante Principessa
Centro Storico riva dei Schiavoni No. 4187, Venice, Italy (Castello)
+39 0415206644
Improve this listing
Ranked #858 of 1,132 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castello
Brighton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Poor food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very good location, but shame about the poor quality food and rude / uncaring service from waiters. I had been to the this restaurant on previous trips to Venice and was hoping that things had improved, but they hadn't.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    37
    26
    31
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“totally not worth it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went there with my family tonight to have dinner, because of heavy rain, we stayed there for dinner. We've ordered a seafood platter, a carbonara spaghetti, a fish soup, a pizza and the food is really not good. The seafood platter is not fresh. The fish soup is extremely salty. The pizza was ok with average quality. all in all, the food was not good. The service quality depends on who to serve you. Some were ok, some were very cool and not the kind of service that you would expected in a so called 4-star hotel. The location is really great. But the price is really high, even in terms of Venice price. Really totally not worth it! When we asked for the bill and the waiter asked us why we have not finished the dish (he said, you having finished at all). It was because the seafood mixer was totally tasteless and was not fresh!!!!!!

Please don't come here, really a trip for tourist!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paonia, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

On a two week trip through Italy we ate dinner one evening at Principessa. The location is very good, nice view of the water and close proximity to St. Mark's. The wait staff were prompt and courteous, and the food was average. It was not the best meal of our trip, but certainly not the worst.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Savoia and Jolanda hotel, of which this restaurant is a part. Breakfast was included in our stay, and we found there to be a better than expected choice of foods (pastries, cheese, meats, fruit, yogurts, bacon, eggs, cereals). Arriving to breakfast early ensured the best choice, and the one occasion we left breakfast until 9.40 resulted in only a few options remaining. The staff were generally pleasant (front of house staff at the hotel were much better) and the food was nice, especially the strudel-type loaf.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Our hotel restaurant Savoia and Jolanda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Breakfast every day was included in the cost of our room. It was always delicious and varied from eggs to meat and cheese. Hint: order the cappuchino...the coffee tastes like instant. We had lunch and dinner there as well, in the outdoor area. The service was super, the food was very good, and because we were staying at the hotel the price was 20% off. Can't beat that. Beautiful views of the water and all the thousands of tourists going two bridges away to San Marco Plaza.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Principessa also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Principessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Principessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.