We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tour in 10 Days of Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Venice Experience - Private Tours

The Venice Experience - Private Tours
San Marco Vaporetto stop, Venice, Italy (San Marco)
340-994-2216
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 95 activities in Venice
Type: Tours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Best Tour in 10 Days of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We took a 4 hour backstreets tour with Karen. It was a Saturday but we saw few people and no tourists for most of the 4 hours. It was quiet, peaceful, and informative. We asked every question we could think of and truly enjoyed the views and the information. We would definitely book this tour guide again. We enjoyed Venice more afterwards based on the orientation she gave us. Thank you Karen.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    9
    6
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Took the back street tour with Mike for 6 hrs and it was excellent. Got to explore the 'off the tourist' track of Venice, with plenty of opportunities for photos. Lunch stop was another highlight- one of the best pastas I've ever tasted! Mike was a fab guide and happy to chat about anything I raised- so much nicer than getting the typical tourist guidebook talk. Thanks Mike, you helped make my visit to Venice so memorable for all the right reasons.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Finally my I learned how to take photos?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Took a backstreet photo tour of the non touristy areas of Venice which I found interesting. We visited hidden passages, markets, photogenic areas and at the same time learned about Venice. The best part is Mike showed me how to use my amera and are quality photographs. After posting them on FB there were many compliments of the pictures. Thanks Mike for a rest day.

My only advice is that the tour is more for the serious photographer and is not a tour for non photographers as they would find it not as engaging for obvious reasons. For me it was like finding a gem in the sand.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great way to see Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Thank you Karen for a great tour. We loved walking the back streets of Venice with you for our 6 hour tour. It was great to hear your perspective as an American transplant in Venice. We love to learn about the day to day lives of the places we visit and everything you shared was wonderful! Thank you for outlining the route that we took so that we could go back to some of the areas that you showed us and do some additional shopping.
We spent the following evening after revisiting some of the areas we wanted to see again touring with Mike on the Food Tour. We loved walking through alleyways going to the two different pubs and a restaurant talking and enjoying food and Venice life. We ended at a wonderful gelato shop. It worked great splitting the bill three ways on the items that we chose to eat. Love food tour! Thanks for a great two days in Venice!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Transformed Our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We decided to sign up for the Backstreets tour, thinking we may see a a few additional sights, and we wanted to learn our way around a bit. We were absolutely amazed at how different Venice was once we got off the main tourist thoroughfares. After going on the tour, we frequented all of the neighborhoods that we toured through, followed all off the restaurant recommendations given to us, and essentially had a much more robust experience. I highly recommend this tour if you want to get a sense of how the Venetians live, outside of the main tourist attractions.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Venice Experience - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to The Venice Experience - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Venice Experience - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Venice Experience - Private Tours to your Saves list