We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oct-Nov 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Sole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 382 hotels in Venice
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Oct-Nov 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent service from the staff, who were very helpful throughout the stay. Good recommendations for restaurants and what attractions to visit.
A free water taxi to Murano to visit a glass making factory was arranged by the hotel as well.

Room Tip: any room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    204
    42
    13
    1
See reviews for
53
248
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We write a lot of reviews for all over the world, and what we try and say is how it is. It was a special anniversary present, for me, a trip to venice and a stay at the Al Sole. My husband had emailed previously to say any little something, i,e touch for our anniversary would be nice, he was thinking that they may leave,. a couple of roses, small box of chocs, bottle of prosecco, whatever, but nothing. After all he was paying 225.00 pounds a night for 3 nights for a canal room, so 680 pounds for the break, b and b. When we arrived we were greeted with nothing, he was very dissappointed and went to ask the staff, though nice, looked non plussed and just shrugged. he then arranged and paid for a bottle of prosecco to be in our room for when we got back from our first afternoon out in venice. Having said that, The Al Sole is a good hotel, based in a great location for the airport, buses and not having to cart luggage too far over all the cobbled street and bridges, venice has. The breakfast has been mentioned in many previous reviews, it is extremely dissappointing, bread rolls, cheese, salami, awful cakes and not fresh orange juice. Very poor for the price. Sometimes you do, on entering the hotel get a really bad water smell, but not in the rooms. So when you have passed reception, your ok. Overall enjoyed our stay, but that special touch and a good bfast would have been perfect.

Room Tip: if you can afford it definately get a canal room, it really is worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2012. The location was superb for trekking around Venice. We loved being on a small canal but wished we had a view of the canal. Our room was clean, fairly large with high ceilings. Internet wasn't easy to access even after paying for it. Breakfasts were disorganized for a large group. Chaotic to access things. Cooked food was also quite cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal higher up to avoid noise. Loved the old charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Al Sole in Venice, Italy (September 13-15, 2012). Excellent location and helpful, pleasant staff. Although our room did not over-look the canal, this was compensated with being an over-sized room which made our stay more pleasant. Great spot for walking all over Venice. We would definitely go back and would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place is close to the station, requiring to cross just 1 bridge (bridges in Venice are not easy for carrying across luggage -they have steps). The room we had (I guess it was 101) had a "great" view of the canal....just very very beautiful!!! The room was spacious. The breakfast was good! The staff were very helpful!! we had asked them to arrange for something before we came and it was as requested. You can walk from here to San Marco -takes about 20mins. Cost wise, it is a a little on the higher side when compared to the rest of our stay across Italy, but this is Venice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights before moving onto an apartment and could not fault it in any way. Our room was very comfortable - a bit on the small side but very clean with a king sized bed, efficient air conditioning and a good bathroom with double shower. The continental breakfast was nice and we enjoyed eating outside in the garden. We found the staff to be very friendly and reception was manned 24 hours a day. Our room overlooked the garden which was nice.
The location was perfect on a quiet picturesque canal yet only a few minutes from the bus and train stations and vaporetto stops. We ate at quite a few nearby restaurants and were very impressed by the quality and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent two nights in the Hotel Al Sole from the 23rd to the 25th of August, before boarding on the Splendour of the Seas for a cruise.

First of all, the location was excellent for us. A 5 minutes walk and 2 bridges to cross from the Piazzale Roma (Bus Station / Cruise Terminal). This allows you to leave the airport, ride a bus for 15 minutes, walk 5 minutes and be in your room. Just one piece of advice, study a map before leaving home. The itinerary from the bus station is very simple, but Venice is a bit confusing and overwhelming, so a little preparation goes a long way (especially when you are carrying suitcases).

The hotel is not close to St Marc Square, but Venice is not a big city, so you can walk and be there in 30 minutes. Or you can take a vaporetto (the boats) and enjoy a scenic ride to the center. Please note taht a all-inclusive transportation pass is available at the airport, on the ACTV machines. They include the return trip from the airport by bus, and any vaporetto ride for your choosen duration (12, 24, 36, 48... hours). We chose the 36 hours pass, and made full use of it by exploring the city of venice, but also the beach island of The Lido, and the very picturesque island of Burrano (highly recommended !)

The public rooms in he hotel are beautiful, and you really get this 'I AM in Venice' vibe, that you probably wouldn't get in more modern places. The bedrooms are less impressive, a bit on the small side (we hade a standard bedroom), but they are very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The beds are perfect, and we slept like babies.

The breakfast can be taken in the beautiful courtyard that is well protected from the sun with a well manicured vegetation. I loved going there in the morning or at the end of the day, just enjoying the place and the tranquillity. The breakfast itself was nothing to write home about, but it was more than adequate.

The staff was very attentive, spoke english, and there everytime we needed them, day or night.

We really likes this hotel. It is not the best we've ever stayed in, and probably not the best in Venice, but we felt that for the price and the location, the service was superior to anything we would have expected.

(On a side note, Venice is NOT the expensive city we were told it would be. Avoid dining or drinking near the Piazza San Marco, where the prices are multiplied by 5 - think 10€ for a coke - and prefer doing it in the small streets everywhere, and you'll pay exactly the same kind of prices you'd pay anywhere else. One evening, we were able to get a great dinner for two for less than 30€ in a small restaurant near the hotel.)

Room Tip: We booked a standard room, and had a view over the canal. I found it a little small for our taste, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.