We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Panada

Save Saved
You added Antico Panada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antico Panada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco, 646, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Venice weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Booked this hotel as it was close to Marks Square. Jumped off the boat and 10 min your there. Very easy to find up a small cobbled street. We booked B&B so pop out for dinner and drinks. We all loved Venice, but you need more than three days to get around it all. Hotel was good value, but it would have been nice if they opened the bar!! As in most tourist citys, its very exspensive. On our last day we found a small supermarket to buy snacks & drinks. Could have saved a packet if found sooner..

Room Tip: Listen out for church bells all night long!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    212
    160
    83
    72
See reviews for
114
270
54
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This property is as adorable as it is unique! Its a crazy labyrinth of hallways and stairs to get to your room and if you have a sense of humor about it, its a hilarious and fun adventure. If you want typical and customary stay away from this property. We had a small but well appointed room, with WIFI, A/C and nice bathroom. The view was of an alley but we didn't care, we basically rested and slept in the room because it was in the heart of the city just a couple streets away from San Marco
Square. Why stay in the room???
Staff was sweet and accommodating but breakfast was not worth eating. One of the worst I experienced in our 7 country and 10 city mecca. But again, not a high priority for me.
We loved this place and would go back......go in with an open mind and buy a small bite from a street vendor for breakfast!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having never been to Venice before, my wife and I thought that being only a few hundred meters from St Mark's Square would be ideal. Sadly, we were mistaken. First of all, it is tourist central of Venice. Cruise ships dropping off wave after wave of daytrippers made it feel like the Normandy invasion reenacted. Add to that the "shopping mall" vibe of the streets between St. Mark's and the Rialto Bridge, and this location really was not our speed.

That being said, I didn't factor this into the review of the hotel itself. I can't really say anything was wrong with the hotel, it just felt weird. This hotel was definitely overpriced for what it is, but then again, so is all of Venice. My faith was shaken a bit when we checked in, and there was a line of people complaining about issues with their rooms or reservations. We were forced to wait for the one bellman on duty to take us to our room, which at first seemed ridiculous but we soon discovered why. This hotel is a maze!! While some might find that to be cool, I found it a bit annoying. To get to our room, we had to take the elevator or stairs to the second floor, walk down a hallway with 2 turns, go back downstairs, weave through another hallway, go through a keycard access-only firedoor, and somehow end up in the bowels of this hotel.

The room itself was clean, the shower was tiny (I'm 6'2" and kept banging my elbows against the door), and the wifi was only available in the lobby. Breakfast was included, but if given the opportunity to do it again, I'd skip the breakfast and grab a croissant while walking AWAY from the location.

The front desk staff was the best part of our stay. They were all multi-lingual, humorous, and ready to oblige our needs. We overheard many complaints from people getting lost in the mouse-maze of the hallways, and every time the staff was super courteous and helpful.

Again, I can't necessarily fault the hotel for being bad, but it was just an odd vibe. My advice: stay outside of the San Marco neighborhood and enjoy local culture, and venture in early to see the Basilica and Palace, then return to the square during the night for some music and a stroll without the daytrippers shuffling all over the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Before we arrived at this hotel I was very worried after seeing some reviews but I was proven wrong. We got upgraded to an amazing room that was in San Marks square, the room was stunning. We didn't have much dealings with the staff as we didn't stay in the main hotel but when we did they come across very nice. Breakfast was enough to keep us going until lunch time. The perfect stay for the 2 days we stayed in our travels. I would stay in the hotel again as I felt it was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Do not let the professional photos fool you. It looks grand and spacious but it is quite small and cramped. We stayed for three nights and found it to be a very average hotel for the price. The room we had was ok, but due for new flooring and wall coverings. I did appreciate that it was supposed to look "antique" and the painted headboard, desk and end tables gave it a unique feel. The best thing was the location (literally steps from San Marco Piazza). Our room was located at the front of the hotel and it was very noisy at night. We didn't spend a great deal of time in the room, but one of the annoying things was that the room key card needed to be inserted into a slot on the wall in order for the electricity in the room to work. If one person wished to be out of the room, the other had to stay awake in order to let the other back in. They staff refused to give us more than one card. There was no wifi in the room, only in the common area downstairs, so this was very inconvenient. There were also no electrical outlets in our room that worked with our adapters (the configuration looked like a long, thin USB port) so recharging phones and such had to be done in the bathroom using the razor outlet, or in the common room. The bathroom was large and modern, at least. I believe there are other, less pricey places to stay that had just as much if not more to offer, and I should have done more research. In retrospect, being close to San Marco's was ok, but it really didn't make a difference in how much we saw of Venice and it probably added to the noise at night. I was hoping for a very nice hotel as a treat from the more budget conscious places I had chosen in other cities. I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a room that is quiet. I can't say that a room in the back would be bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrive at the hotel and are very impressed with the location. The morning staff are courteous and ready for us. Then we are shown to our room...via various lifts, winding corridors, connecting doors. We were never able to find it again without a map! When we approached the afternoon Manager about this he was off hand and dismissed us as idiots. The room itself was small (supposed to be a "family room", tired but clean. It was very noisy, but that's to be expected in that area near to St Marks square. Breakfast was nothing short of mean - a few slices of meat, cheese or bread (for toasting if you had time to put it through the toaster 6 or 7 times), a cereal or two, yogurt and some cheap looking buns in a basket on your table. The dining room was crowded and we were offered coffee which tasted like yesterday's dregs. We never ate breakfast after day one but were still charged 8 euros for it. All in all the worst hotel in our entire trip around central and northern Italy. I'd never stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice hotel but hard to find but every hotel is in venices small narrow streets.Stylish venetian decor throughout hotel.staff seemed friendly enough. Never had breakfast so cant comment on that.great location for san marco

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antico Panada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Panada

Address: San Marco, 646, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Panada 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Antico Panada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Panada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.