We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Panada

Save Saved
You added Antico Panada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antico Panada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco, 646, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 382 hotels in Venice
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice hotel but hard to find but every hotel is in venices small narrow streets.Stylish venetian decor throughout hotel.staff seemed friendly enough. Never had breakfast so cant comment on that.great location for san marco

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    207
    156
    81
    65
See reviews for
108
264
52
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Most expensive and worst hotel we stayed at on our tour of Northern Italy. Needed a Sat Nav to find the room. Had to ask the reception staff to draw us a map. Breakfast was the real low point and there is no excuse for this in a country full of good food. We only tried breakfast once then didn't bother but still paid for it. The room was ok but had mould on the ceiling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is very confusing -- the rooms could be in other buildings and there are endless corridors & stairs with little signage (we got lost more than once!) to reach our rooms in level 5 -- at the attic. We booked 2 rooms and asked for "a room with a view", but little did we know that we had to play hide and seek just to get a room with a view... which isn't really a great view, just the top silhouette of Basilica San Marco from the little window on our attic rooms.

Imagine a family of four with 5 big & heavy suitcases and 4 cabin luggages... and we had
Thank goodness for Carlo, the bell boy, who helped us with the luggages! What would we do without Carlo? Poor him though for having to lift all our heavy luggages up the stairs to our rooms.

Because our rooms were so far away from the reception (we had to take 2 lifts, climbed some stairs, and walked through endless corridors to reach our rooms somewhere in the next building or so), we needed 2 keys each room for each person, but the reception could only give 1 key each room, resulting to difficulties in entering the room for those who didn't have the key.
AC was too hot in one room, and too cold in another room.

The wifi wasn't working well most of the time, and couldn't reach our rooms since we were too far away.

Breakfast is mediocre in a very cramped room.

The only nice thing is the location, but there are plenty of other hotels in the same location with the same price (for instance: Best Western Montecarlo or Comfort Hotel Diana -- both right in front of Antico Panada). Now that I know and have plenty of other choices, I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: If you really need to stay here no matter what, ask for rooms closest to the reception. Trust me, vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I can actually not believe that I have not written this review before, but I only realised it tonight as I was looking for the name of the hotel for somebody who is going to Venice.

We stayed at the Hotel Antico Panada in April 2011. It was absolutely fabulous. The rooms were a tad small but not too small. Our bathroom was nice and spacious.

The most important thing that I remember about this hotel is the location!!!! it is fab, fab, fab...!!!!! Imagine staying 20m from the most important square in Venice!!!! Glorious.

Even if you do not like the breakfast, size of the room, etc. I'd say it is still worth it, because of the location.

Room Tip: you may want to ask for a room that does not look into the middle of the building. there is no cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is the 3rd but last time we stay here. The room we were staying while it looked like it had been recently renovated was in the Bronx. We were helped to the room on the 3rd floor, but had to get off at the 2nd floor - we walked down stairs, along passages, upstairs and along passages, then up a creaking wooden staircase to our tiny rooms in the attic. We were with friends who actually got lost finding there way back to the room. I thought we'd be in a quieter part of the hotel in that we wouldn't hear the bells in St Marks Square - wrong - there was a nightclub next door that we might as well been at. The WiFi was useless in the room we were in. At breakfast the staff were run off their feet trying to cater for everyone in a small dining room - it appeared the hotel was expanding it's rooms but not the facilities to deal with the influx - and some of the guests need a lesson in manners and patience - they weren't the only ones in the hotel or dining room. Most of the staff are still the same from previous visits which pleased us when we got there but their patience was tested by the continual overflow of guests coming and going. Seldom did we see the lobby free from an overgrowth of suitcases.
This small hotel is simply unable to deal with what appears to be an increase in clientele or we were there at the wrong time of year - much of a muchness really.
Checking out was a nightmare - trying to traverse a route with our bags when there simply wasn't a lift within coo-ee but plenty of stairs.
I wouldn't go back - shame really coz we have raved about it and recommended it - perhaps that's the problem.
Staff still friendly, breakfast still ample, rooms getting smaller, noisier and further away - if you haven't an appetite for breakfast before you get there you'll have one by the time you do.

Room Tip: The place is a rabbit warren, there is no rhyme or reason as where rooms are - you virtually have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic but the beds are like surfboards and pillows are bricks. When we asked for new pillows the staff member simply said no and walked to the back of reception, dismissing our request. The rooms are shabby with wall paper falling off the walls and there is only one PowerPoint. I would love to recommend this hotel but I think there better out there with the same price range and same location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antico Panada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Panada

Address: San Marco, 646, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Panada 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Antico Panada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Panada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.