We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it and we'll be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fontego dei Pescatori

Al Fontego dei Pescatori
Cannaregio 3726 | Calle Priuli o de la Raccheta, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
+39 041 5200538
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 1,211 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Buckinghamshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it and we'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

*TripAdvisor's directions are wrong. It isn't located near Ferrovia vaporetto, but near Ca d*oro between Calle de la Racheta and Calle Priuli.*

We came here through Tripadvisor's recommendation and liked it so much we returned two nights later with six friends to celebrate my 70th birthday. The food was as good the second time around and the staff's skill, good humour and generosity when they heard it was a celebration was remarkable. The atmosphere was typical Italian, with more locals than tourists, which is always a good sign. Some reviews have said it is expensive, but for Venice and the quality and the quantity it is both reasonable and middle of the price range. We'll certainly be returning and recommend it highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    155
    109
    22
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

When we decided to skip out on our earlier reservations at a different restaurant because it was hot and crowded we found this place back in a small alley. Service was great, food was great, wine was even better. It was a bit pricier than our other meals in Venice but we definitely got what we paid for. Good choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“LOVELY FOOD BUT NOT THE CHEAPEST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you like big serves then this is for you...we shared the house specialty for entree and honestly that would have been enough for the 2 of us, but we'd each ordered the seafood - grilled and fried platters for mains...huge!!!! Exceptionally helpful and friendly waiters as well who were more than happy to explain each dish...a complimentary glass of Lemoncello with coffee was a nice touch....not a cheap meal, but your in Venice!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great but pricy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The waitresses are super nice and friendly. Their spaghetti with clams and spaghetti with cuttlefish were great. Main course fish trout was also very fresh and tasteful, but the sea bream was not as impressive, probably because it is not as fatty as trout.

The waiter we had was a bit dominant and crafty, he actually suggested more than we could eat. The two fish dishes were cooked in the exactly same way, which was a bit disappointing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow this restaurant specializing in fish is fantastic, great food and fabulous service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We found this restaurant on line with good reviews and we were not disappointed. It was not far from our hotel on Strada Nuova. The atmosphere was wonderful with the fantastic so helpful with all our requests and questions attended to with gusto. The food was superb and the fish so fresh and delicious with all the food made on the premises. The waiters guidance for a wine we would like was correct.
We were made to feel quite special and very at home in this restaurant. Wish we lived in Venice to visit often but we will come again next we are in Venice holidaying. We were so glad to find this restaurant for our last night in Venice before our cruise, we will never forget it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fontego dei Pescatori also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Fontego dei Pescatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fontego dei Pescatori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.