We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algiubagio

Algiubagio
Fundamente Nuove | Cannareggio 5039, 30125 Venice, Italy
+39 041 5236084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 1,198 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I made our dinner reservation based on previous reviews and was not disappointed. We had a wonderful water view table at sunset. The owner of the restaurant waited on us and we spent the evening speaking with him and learning about the history of the restaurant. The food was amazing. I had the goose ravioli and it was amazing! It was a little pricey...but this was a special occasion and we wanted something special. We were not disappointed! I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    158
    55
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This restaurant is nicely situated once you get there. There is an absolutely beautiful view of the lagoon. I stopped by there in between lunch and dinner. But there was a good menu to just have a bite. The staff was lovely. Paolo was friendly and graciously to my beginner Italian. The atmosphere is elegant for an evening meal but also nice to just stop by during the day and view the less crowded part of the lagoon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
489 helpful votes 489 helpful votes
“Nicely situated in an area you might not otherwise get to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This isn’t in the nicest part of the city but looks out across the water to the cemetery, Murano and the mountains. Book early to get a table on the water’s edge. All the food was delicious, especially the fish. Do try the Risotto “Ga”, a lagoon speciality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent ambiance, food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Reacting graciously to my pigeon Italian, this restaurant was actually staffed by the best English speakers on our stay! Staff were friendly, and efficient.

Food was great, the highlight being a Tuna Tartare with Swordfish Carpaccio.

The view to Murano is great, and the impression I got was that the restaurant was less frequented by tourists than some of the more central restaurants.

We had lunch, our last meal in Venice. An expensive luxury, but if you're willing to push the boat out you shouldn't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a bite to eat....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went for lunch, we felt a little under dressed in shorts and trainers, most people seemed very smart. Nevertheless we sat outside with views to the sea. We were going to Murano so just wanted a light lunch, they don't appear to have a lunch menu so we chose a spaghetti to share and 2 side-salads. It was very nice, enough for lunch. I nipped to the toilet and got to see the inside of the restaurant which did look lovely and I imagine is very nice in the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algiubagio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Algiubagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algiubagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.