We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely situated in an area you might not otherwise get to” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Algiubagio

Algiubagio
Fundamente Nuove | Cannareggio 5039, 30125 Venice, Italy
+39 041 5236084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 1,209 restaurants in Venice
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
“Nicely situated in an area you might not otherwise get to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This isn’t in the nicest part of the city but looks out across the water to the cemetery, Murano and the mountains. Book early to get a table on the water’s edge. All the food was delicious, especially the fish. Do try the Risotto “Ga”, a lagoon speciality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    467
    143
    47
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent ambiance, food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Reacting graciously to my pigeon Italian, this restaurant was actually staffed by the best English speakers on our stay! Staff were friendly, and efficient.

Food was great, the highlight being a Tuna Tartare with Swordfish Carpaccio.

The view to Murano is great, and the impression I got was that the restaurant was less frequented by tourists than some of the more central restaurants.

We had lunch, our last meal in Venice. An expensive luxury, but if you're willing to push the boat out you shouldn't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a bite to eat....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went for lunch, we felt a little under dressed in shorts and trainers, most people seemed very smart. Nevertheless we sat outside with views to the sea. We were going to Murano so just wanted a light lunch, they don't appear to have a lunch menu so we chose a spaghetti to share and 2 side-salads. It was very nice, enough for lunch. I nipped to the toilet and got to see the inside of the restaurant which did look lovely and I imagine is very nice in the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We went for my husband's 40th birthday and although the table had the best view, it was situated between 2 water bus stops which spoilt the ambience. The food was at best poor but the service good and the waiters had remembered it was my husband's birthday so the tiramisu had a candle and happy birthday on it. Not a great foodie experience in Venice

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The dinner we enjoyed here was very good. We tried menues 1 and 2 along with a bottle of the house wine (red). Everything was very tasty and nicely presented. The pauses between courses were not too short, so one did not have the feeling of being rushed. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. Altogether an enjoyable evening, though it was a shame the weather did not allow outdoor dining. Quite practical if your hotel is further away is the fact that the restaurant is close to a vaporetto stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with MyTable.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algiubagio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Algiubagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algiubagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.