We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot for a bite to eat....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Algiubagio

Algiubagio
Fundamente Nuove | Cannareggio 5039, 30125 Venice, Italy
+39 041 5236084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 1,195 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Cheshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a bite to eat....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went for lunch, we felt a little under dressed in shorts and trainers, most people seemed very smart. Nevertheless we sat outside with views to the sea. We were going to Murano so just wanted a light lunch, they don't appear to have a lunch menu so we chose a spaghetti to share and 2 side-salads. It was very nice, enough for lunch. I nipped to the toilet and got to see the inside of the restaurant which did look lovely and I imagine is very nice in the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    158
    55
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We went for my husband's 40th birthday and although the table had the best view, it was situated between 2 water bus stops which spoilt the ambience. The food was at best poor but the service good and the waiters had remembered it was my husband's birthday so the tiramisu had a candle and happy birthday on it. Not a great foodie experience in Venice

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The dinner we enjoyed here was very good. We tried menues 1 and 2 along with a bottle of the house wine (red). Everything was very tasty and nicely presented. The pauses between courses were not too short, so one did not have the feeling of being rushed. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. Altogether an enjoyable evening, though it was a shame the weather did not allow outdoor dining. Quite practical if your hotel is further away is the fact that the restaurant is close to a vaporetto stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with MyTable.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience for our last night in Venice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent atmosphere and very convenient location for us to get back on the water taxi. The waiters spoke very good english and had a good sense of humour which added to the experience, the food was brilliantly presented and tasted delicious, the best food we had in Venice. Cannot speak highly enough of this restaurant. AND it was excellent value as well. Antipasto, first courses, second courses and dessert plus 2 delicious bottles of wine (one Amarone and one Cabernet), coffees and complimentary limoncello to finish off all for around £85 per person (€100).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“relaxing view of the lagoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you want a quiet restaurant to sit, enjoy some great prosecco, and look over the lagoon, this is it! Beautiful outside sitting area that still manages to be peaceful. (many outdoor restaurants in Venice are crowded and noisy.) It has a spectacular view of the lagoon and the islands. Highly recommend this as a place to stop and take in the beauty of Venice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algiubagio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Algiubagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algiubagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.