We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth wandering off the beaten track- you will not be disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algiubagio

Algiubagio
Fundamente Nuove | Cannareggio 5039, 30125 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
+39 041 5236084
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Algiubagio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 1,131 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Worth wandering off the beaten track- you will not be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Before we visit any city, we do our homework. I came across this restaurant whilst browsing the internet, like what i read on tripadvisor and loved the photos, i adored the picture of the outdoor terrace by candlelight on a summer evening - but we were visiting at the end of February.

We wandered if to this area from the Arsenale, and it took ages of walking up little alleyways, but eventually we arrived at the waters edge, and saw the outdoor terrace, then we saw it looked like a cafe and we were disappointed. Fortunately we decided to go inside for a further look, the front area is frequented by locals for coffee, drinks and informal snacks, further inside you come across this amazing modern restaurant.

We had a great friendly greeting and as we had arrived a little early we sat in the window after being offered a glass of prosceco, and waited for the kitchen to open up.

The dining room is so fabulous and the layout is extremely interesting with two huge Murano glass chandeliers, we could wander round taking photographs as we were the only diners there.

The Algiubagio building used to be a boat house, which you can see from its inside structure, and it has been very sensitively refurbished into an extremely moder very upmarket foodie heaven - and it did not disappoint. The kitchen area is open so you can se the chefs preparing food. Extensive menu, fabulous food and very professional service.

We only popped in for lunch, had a bowl of pasta and a great bottle of wine from their extensive menu, wished we could have come back for dinner, but we had other great favourite restaurants to re visit.

A truly brilliant experience run by people who are passionate about what they do, and definitely on our list for lunch and dinner on our next visit to Venice. Great dining experience, off the beaten track, not a sign of tourists looking for a cheap quick meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    168
    56
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not as good as I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have chosen this restaurant based on Tripadvisor recommendations. It has beautiful interior with amazing Murano Glass chandeliers and very good service. All waiters are very polite and constantly looking to satisfy their guests’ wishes. In regards to their kitchen I have to say it was not bad at all, but it wasn´t my taste or if we consider the upper price class of this restaurant (200EUR for 2 persons) I have expected a little bit more.
They had menu selection or a la cart dishes. We decided to go for a la cart. As antipasto we have chosen a “Daily Sampling of raw fish” set up with tiger prawns, tuna, anchovy tartar and some over fish sorts all served together with fresh strawberries (25EUR). For my taste this dish was too salty and combination with strawberries and fish wasn´t the perfect match.
Primi piatti and main course were absolutely ok, but again didn´t flash me. As Dessert we had a cake with chocolate and berries and tiramisu. Unfortunately as cake arrived, there was absolutely no chocolate on or in it, only a lot of berries sauce which made the bottom of the cake totally wet and tasting as raw dough. But I have to be honest on tiramisu – it was amazingly delicious!
As conclusion: not bad at all, good for romantic dinners or special occasions. Upper price class, very polite service. But it didn´t give me the excitement I would have expected, therefore only 3 points.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratfield Saye, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have now visited this restaurant in Venice a number of times and are never disappointed. The food and service is great. It is not cheap but it is affordable. You get what you pay for. The decor is lovely. We love it here and will go back time and time again. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Actually an emotional experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I surprised my wife with a surprise tenth anniversary trip to Venice in July. I had made reservations at Algiubagio several months in advance based on the stellar reviews on tripadvisor. This restaurant was somewhat out of the way but ended up being perfect. We took a private boat from our hotel by the Rialto Bridge through the back canals and ended up at the restaurant which overlooked the bay where the sunset was imminent. The owner had reserved us a corner table on the "over the water" deck to provide us with the best possible views. It was heavenly. As the sun went down the colored navigation lights began to illuminate in the bay for all the watercraft. To add to this romantic spectacle there was actually a statue in the bay in the distance with fiber optic light displays and rotating colors. It could not have been better. I might as well mention the food; simply put when dessert was offered we each ordered another main course. Everything on the menu was deliciously enticing. Just when i thought it could not have gotten any more romantic (better) the owner came out with a dinner plate which appeared to be dusted with sugar. He then took out a handheld blow torch and seared the sugar. What appeared as the sugar heated was two words; "Happy 10th". As a grown man it brought tears to my eyes. Algiubagio had affected both my wife and I with loving elation. I was so proud that I had chosen this exceptional establishment for our tenth anniversary. The walk back to the hotel was not short ... and that ended up being just fine with us.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Finding this wonderful restaurant required a lot of wandering, but it was worth the extra exploring. It's far off the beaten path. We felt lost at several points during our walk to the restaurant (15 minutes from the main tourist area) and felt an urge to drop bread crumbs so we could return after dinner. Creative food, a cozy setting and a welcoming staff combined to create a memorable dining experience once we arrived. Our waiter even allows our 11 year old son to melt the sugar on his creme brûlée. He'll never forget that!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algiubagio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Algiubagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algiubagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.