We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect dinner,perfect setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algiubagio

Algiubagio
Fundamente Nuove | Cannareggio 5039, 30125 Venice, Italy
+39 041 5236084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 1,193 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $34 - $135
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect dinner,perfect setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Visited Alguibagio for our 25th Anniversary dinner. Was great. We had a corner table overlooking the canal. The food was excellent. We asked our server for recommendations and he made excellent choices. We started with a seafood ravioli with peaches. One of the best things I had ever had. The tiramasu was delicious. Wish I was back there now!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    158
    55
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
susiespark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food!!! Awesome views!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The food here was absolutely delicious! I would highly recommend their beef carpaccio as it was like butter in your mouth.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Even better 6 years on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We called into Algiubagio on our first night, six years after our last trip to Venice, initially for a drink but ended up staying for a superb meal. We started with a prosecco and a glass of Peneveda (draught beer), followed by carpaccio of beef, capresse salad, monkfish and fillets of sea bass, dessert and cheese a bottle of wine. Great atmosphere, excellent service and good value for money.
It felt as if we hadn't left the restaurant 6 yrs ago, some of the staff were the same as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Following the reviews on Trip Advisor, I booked for my mother's 80th birthday. We wlaked from St Mark's Square (which took 30 mins rather than 15 mins), but it was more than worth it. The service was impeccable, the food fabulous, the ambience everything we wanted and my mother was made a fuss of. At dessert time she was brought a rectangular plate covered in icing sugar which was then burnt off with a blowtorch to reveal a Happy Birthday message written underneath in strawberry puree. She was more than delighted. We spent a leisurely evening and returned to St Mark's Square by water ferry (it took about an hour!) I was also impressed they had a Dyson airblade handdryer in the toilet/washroom. The meal wasn't cheap (150 Euros for 2 inc wine), but worth every penny.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Cool location, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We ate here on a recommendation, but because it was a kind of stormy night were unable to enjoy the outdoor terrace which was a shame. The inside of the restaurant is very nice, but it felt like we could have been in any North American city, there was nothing Venetian about it. The service was great, but the food was just ok. I had the branzino which had some small bones and a few scales left on which was off putting. My husband had a seafood pasta which tasted a bit wrong. It had a lot of lime juice that didn't work with the rest of the flavours and the noodles were overcooked. Good tiramisu though! This was the most expensive meal we had in Italy and one of our least favourite.

The thing we did like about the restaurant was the location, far away from the mobs of tourists. Fundamente Nuove is a cool place to walk and get a view of the other islands, and the walk to and from shows you a part of Venice most people probably don't see.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algiubagio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Algiubagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algiubagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.