We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windows on st, Marks Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Windows

Save Saved
You added Best Windows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Windows
San Marco 144, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 427 Venice B&B and Inns
turnberry scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Windows on st, Marks Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were the luckiest couple in Venice on 4th. & 5th. November. Best Windows is the only accommodation, in Venice, on St. Marks Square. We were on the 3 floor ( no lift, but a very willing Porter who can be reached by calling the phone number on the door) with a view of the Clock Tower, ask for a front facing room as you will then have a view over the square & Grand Canal.
The Suite has a lounge with T.V. a large bedroom & a beautiful marble bathroom with Jacuzzi Bath & shower.
We walked to all the sights from here & a big bonus is that it's a 5 min. walk to the Water Taxis/Buses. Lovely little Restaurants, round the corner, in abundance. Fabulous stay!

Room Tip: Book top floor as quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
53
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

First of all of you are looking for a full service hotel this probably isn't for you. But if you can get by w out room service and morning coffee in a lobby you'll be a lot better off here. These are actually like little private residences right on San Marco square and I can not stress enough to pay a little more and get the 3rd floor view unit. You are basically king of the square and have an absolute amazing view of the square and channel (see my pics). The room is wonderfully decorated and furnished and I was informed the units on the top floor still have the original ceiling art that is over 500 years old! To be honest in a wonderful location like Venice I'm glad there were no spoon fed services since it had me exploring the city each day finding amazing cafes, shops and restaurants. Another thing that might bother some is being right in the square and high up you have the bell towers chiming on the hour but with the windows closed in the evening is was not an issue for me. Hands down the most amazing view I've ever had out of a hotel room and I've been in some great locations.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, null, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I travel to Venice every six months for last 6 years. This is first time i tried Best W and we are in love. There is no other place we would rent in Venice, because there is no money that can buy feeling of awakening and heaving St Marcos church first thing to see, priceless. Thank you and see you in april 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Best Windows for two nights to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. The room and location was perfect. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed, nice decoration in typical Venetian style, paintings, lighting and, oh yes the fantastic view.
The view is just superb, looking out onto Piazza San Marco, the Basilica, Palazzo Ducale, the lion of St Mark and out to San Giorgio Maggiore. So nice to see the piazza at different times of the day and night, oh yes and hear the clock ticking and the bells ringing every hour.
A wonder place to spend a special time.

Room Tip: Has to be a room looking out onto Piazza San Marco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for the final night of our holidays in room 711 which provides a superb view of the basilica San marco and the grand canal. The rooms are beautifully decorated with frescoes on the ceiling and have free wifi, good aircon( one point is if you cannot get the aircon working check that reception in the hotel panada have turned it on) . another point to note is that the best windows does not have a lift but the hotel panada where you check in provides a porter to carry your luggage- cannot wait to return! Check out is 12 and you can leave your luggage at the panada if needs be.

Room Tip: Room711 is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you're looking for a high-end romantic bolt-hole in Venice then this is the place for you. We stayed for two nights at the end of our honeymoon and absolutely loved it.

The rooms are big for Venice, decorated in plush but humourous style and have a completely unbeatable location. I was a little worried it was goins to be noisy as I'm a light sleeper and though there were indeed some irritating bongo players outside in the square at 4am the double glazing is really actually very good and the bells don't chime early or late.

Only drawbacks: this is a serviced appartment not a hotel so isn't for those in need of room service, or indeed breakfast, other guests are right to point out that getting in can be a problem if you don't have a phone as there is no map on the door to the managing hotel (its through the clock tower immediate right then second on the left), and the management could make a bit of an effort in terms of info booklets welcoming you and telling you where to eat nearby etc. But otherwise its perfect and a real find compared to the usual Danielli etc suspects so has the surprise factormas wellmasmthe wow factor. And intimate too.'

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked this premises after we found it by chance on the internet. Its in a fabulous location. We were really looking forward to being able to open our windows onto St Marks Square however about 4 weeks before we arrived the hotel owners contacted us to advise that the local council had erected scaffolding outside the building to initiate some repairs and they couldnt confirm how long they were going to be there. It was outside the owners control so they offered a free cancellation or a reduction on the per night price. We chose the latter and I have to say we were glad. The apartment is beautiful and comfortable. Well worth it. Will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Windows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Windows

Address: San Marco 144, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 427 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Best Windows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Windows Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Windows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.