We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming House is truly charming…” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IQs Charming House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added IQs Charming House to your Saves list
IQs Charming House
Castello, 4425, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Charming House is truly charming…”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We just returned from a two-week jaunt in Italy. I had booked IQs Charming House based on several reviews from tripadvisor and other resources and I must say that IQs Charming House was lovely and a true respite from the hustle and bustle of Venice. The modernly decorated room was very clean and had almost everything one would need. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom, albeit tight, was extremely nice, clean and up-to-date.

And, the staff… what can I say? They were absolutely wonderful. We arrived much later than anticipated, but Anna waited for us. The water taxi couldn't deliver us to the hotel entrance due to high water, so Anna had him boat to another location where she met us and led us back to the hotel (while she hefted some of the luggage -- a real trooper, that girl!) Once in the hotel, Anna provided a map and talked us through everything we needed to know about how to get around Venice and, most importantly, how to get back to the hotel. Her restaurant suggestions were spot on and her activity insights perfectly matched what we wanted to do. Since we arrived so late, the restaurants were already closing, so we had no alternative than to fix a meal in the room however, all we had was pasta and there didn't appear to be a pot large enough to cook it. So, Anna went home and brought us a pot - WOW, that is customer service! This is not to leave out the other staff members who were all very delightful, efficient and helpful.

IQs Charming House is also in a great location, within 10 minutes walk to almost everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    29
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
92
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This really charming Charming House with only four rooms was a fantastic finding. Our room was very spacious, very well decorated and we fell at home. We really felt we were living in Venice. Breakfast in the room was a surprise to us. Anna and the team did everything they could to help us and their recommendations were all spot on. And location is really privileged. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A delightful place to stay... but I must make some constructive criticisms.

On the positive side, Anna and Catharina are outstanding in their helpfulness and knowledge of the locality. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are both charming and delightful girls.On several occasions they gave us a street by street guidance to our intended destination, without which we would still be wandering lost in the maze of tiny streets which is Venice!
Breakfast in the apartment is exceptionally pleasant and far preferable to the usual restaurant buffet service of most hotels.
The location is excellent being just a short walk from St Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge. Being situated on a canal one has the unique experience of looking out of one's window at the gondolas passing by!

On the negative side however is the darkness of apartment 2. The lack of any central lights makes for a very gloomy interior. The worst aspect of this is the bathroom where, in order to be able to see in the mirror, an angle poise lamp is plugged in by the washbasin; not the best idea from a health and safety perspective. Better illumination is essential.

In contrast apartment 3 is bright and airy and I would have given a higher rating if staying there.

Room Tip: Not room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

iQs Charming House is in a delightful location, the room was decorated in a nice contemporary style. Breakfast each day in the room was excellent, it included fresh fruit and Italian cheeses. Very helpful staff, a good local knowledge, nothing too much trouble. An extremely enjoyable few days.

Room Tip: The white room was light and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We've just spent a magical week in Venice. We've been before, but the experience was never like this, thanks to Anna at Charming House. Perfect in every way. We would never look anywhere else to stay. Fantastic.

Mari VanTraa

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was knew when I booked their was no room service but I had expected, as suggested, their would be a kitchen. I can only assume it was in the adjoining room of this 2 room suite which I felt I was sharing as I heard every conversation and toilet break. The reception was manned only on my arrival and good luck getting any help. The bed and stool height (there were no chairs) was about 60cms and each morning someone arrived to serve me breakfast in my room which I ate on either of 2 stools.It wasn't comfortable. It is at best an expensive B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I booked via MrandMrsSmith.com enticed by the photos and rave reviews. It is expensive but it was a special occasion for my husband and I and our first visit to Venice. We were not told until we arrived that there is a 7% discount on price if you paid by cash, or that our room was in fact part of a two roomed suite. With the inter connecting door between the two bedrooms locked the second bedroom was booked by another couple. Obviously we did not know the other couple but felt like we did by the end of our three night stay as we were privvy to all of their conversations and shouting matches through the thin inter connecting door. Very disappointing and ruined what could have been a nice stay

Room Tip: If you are a couple make sure you are not booking a room in a 2 roomed suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IQs Charming House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IQs Charming House

Address: Castello, 4425, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#91 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Qs are the latest addition to the Charming House family. It is a place where you will feel like at home, where you can offer yourself the luxury of unique suites, behind Piazza San Marco, with canal view on the famous Rio di Santa Maria Formosa, right where its waters take a turn before meeting the Gran Canal under the Bridge of Sighs. The interior is a Gothic courtyard with a well-curb. Contemporary design and art complete the wonderful location. Whether you are traveling for business or pure pleasure, the Charming House i Qs is the ideal place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your IQs Charming House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iqs Charming House Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IQs Charming House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.