We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in the perfect location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centurion Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Centurion Palace to your Saves list
Centurion Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 173, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 383 Hotels in Venice
North Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel in the perfect location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

On arrival at Marco Polo airport we asked about water taxi's to the hotel and were advised to take a private taxi (4 of us sharing), the cost is 120 euros and it took about 25 mins - well worth the money as it was exhilirating, we had our first view of Venice and the islands and the taxi pulled up at the front steps of the hotel.

On arrival the doorman met us at the boat assisted us out of the boat and carried our luggage up to reception. We had a very warm welcome and were shortly shown to our rooms, the room was quite large and had a bath at one end which was quite unusual. The room had everything we required for a comfortable stay including mini bar, bath robes and slippers and a good selection of toiletries. We found the room to be very quiet at night and the bed and pillows were very comfortable.

Breakfast is in the dining room and if you're lucky you can eat outside on the veranda however places are very limited, the choice was extensive and I would say that there is ample for any taste. We found the staff to be very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.

The location of the hotel is in a quiet area although it does overlook Grand Canal which is busy with traffic 24 hours a day, the hotel is very well soundproofed and once doors are closed you cannot hear the traffic. We found sitting watching the water taxi's, gondola's, etc passing the hotel facsinating. Much of Venice can be explored on foot, certainly St Mark's Square and Rialto Bridge are within a very easy walk of the hotel and both are a must. We also hired a water taxi to give us a 1 hour tour, the hotel provides a concierge service and sorted this out for us also giving us advice about where we could go and what we should visit.

The hotel restaurant is excellent and we dined there on our first evening, everything was well prepared, presented and extremely tasty - I would definately recommend eating here. We also ate out a couple of nights as there is so much choice, if you can book a table overlooking water but you will need to do this in advance - we tried walking out one evening to find somewhere to eat overlooking water and really struggled!

We returned to the airport once again on a private water taxi, the driver was not hanging about and we had a very exhilirating ride back which completed out stay in Venice.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor overlooking the courtyard and found the room extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    127
    37
    21
    8
See reviews for
64
367
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

we have just had the absolute pleasure of 3 nights at the centurion palace. we arrived by private water taxi which was a fun way to start. as an architect i thoroughly appreciated the attention to detail at every point, and was instantly impressed as we were greeted at the water front. the reception was impressive and the staff friendly and warm. as we were shown our room, with 2 balconies over looking the canal, i was giggling with excitement. i thought it was beautiful. a stunning bath, plenty of space, and a truly sensational view. the breakfast room was another very beautiful space, with the option of dining on the deck which i loved - watching a gondala or 2 cruise by. the location was sensational, we walked all over venice, and found it to be very central yet quiet and a bit removed from the chaotic areas. the gym was adequate, with a gorgeous little window view, although i thought the late opening hour was a little strange seeing it is unattended.
my only criticism would be about wifi, i am not sure why such a hotel wouldn't have unlimited wireless access for it's guests.
all in all i loved it, thank you husband

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

From the moment you arrive the relaxing atmosphere takes hold in this very proffessional and friendly five star hotel. The room we had was standard but just amazing. With a courtyard view and muslin drapes ,the room was spacious and decadent .With a main feature mirrored wall a giant double free standing bath in front.
The room was tended during the day and your bed turned down in the evening all little touches that you expect in a five star .The staff were immaculate and very attentive ,where nothing was to much trouble.The breakfast was a fantastic self service buffet which would suit anyone as you were spoilt for choices and could eat as much or little as you like.The location is great because you are out of the buzzing of Venice itself .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

From the moment we looked out onto our two balconies over the grand canal we knew it was going to be special. We'd booked a junior superior suite but were happily surprised with an upgrade to a canal-facing room. The hotel is modern, spacious and never too overstated (even by Venetian standards). The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful and the service was always spot on. The Centurian Palace is easy enough to find, just around the corner from Salute stop on the Grand Canal. Entry is via the hotel's attractive courtyard and sets the scene perfectly. We stayed 8 nights and found it a perfect base from which to get around Venice. Our stay included breakfast which could be taken outside on the terrace overlooking the canal. The room was kept immaculately clean and was freshly prepared for us by the chambermaids each day. We will definitely stay here again on returning to Venice.

Room Tip: If you're willing to pay the extra, go for a canal-facing room, it really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in March for my partners 30th birthday. We had a lovely stay. Unfortunately my bags were lost at the airport n arrival and the staff at the hotel were so helpful in making phone calls to track it down for us...whilst we were out sight seeing.

The room was nice, but very small (even though I had up graded to a better room when I booked the break and the shower was in miss repair.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Excellent, quiet location between the Guggenheim and the Punta della dogana, only a short gondola ride to the San Marco area.
Having breakfast on the terrace on the grand canal was wonderful. Reception desk and dining room personnel were kind and helpful.
While the room itself was ok, the room service was not: bins not emptied several days in a row, shampoo / shower gel bottles not replaced, a leaking sink... Sloppy! Certainly not what you are entitled to expect in a 5*L hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveCP, Management at Centurion Palace, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your nice words addressed to our Reception and Restaurant Staff and for remarking the good quality of our service.
We are sorry though to learn about the small problems concerning the service in the room, please be sure you will not encounter them during your next stay with us.
With our Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights this week; the hotel has it's good and bad points. We were upgraded to room 401 (junior suite with dual aspect and fantastic view, so get it if you can) but the room was not ready so we had lunch, which was very good. After lunch the room was still not ready and unfortunately, one particular member of the reception staff dealt with us in a particularly unsympathetic and dismissive fashion. On occasions during our stay, this person and indeed one or two other members of the staff, displayed a degree of arrogance which was unattractive.
The room was superficially nice but the bedside light did not work, the shower was mouldy, the television did not work, you needed to be a gymnast to get into the bath and the bed was on a pedestal which is not necessarily the best position for a night-time visit to the bathroom!
On the other hand, the bed was comfortable, the linen of excellent quality and the room was always beautifully made up.
So, the hotel is in a wonderful position on the quieter side of that part of the Grand Canal and the food was very good but there were certain aspects which did not measure up to 5 star standard.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centurion Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centurion Palace

Address: Dorsoduro 173, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#63 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#85 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centurion Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Centurion Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centurion Palace Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centurion Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.