We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small charming inn...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' Bragadin Carabba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ca' Bragadin Carabba to your Saves list
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Castello 6041 | Sottoportego Scaletta, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A small charming inn...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here with my wife on a 3 night trip to Venice for her birthday.
The hotel is tucked away from the busy streets between Rialto and St Marks Square but not so far that you have long walks to the major spots.
The room was clean and spacious with a great view over a small square. A small osteria around the corner sold excellent snacks to a mainly local crowd. There was a restaurant and supermarket in the square if needed.
We took breakfast in the room. The food was basic but I found it a nice start to the day with the shutters open and watching the square come to life.
The YouTube video is a must if you want to be able to find this place! I would definitely recommend the hotel and am likely to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    162
    19
    2
    9
See reviews for
48
356
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife stayed at the hotel for 4 nights (9/6 - 9/10/13). The hotel is clean and quiet. Finding the hotel was a bit of a challenge when we got off the boat from the airport. The hotel provides a great map on how to get there but you'll find out that the reality of the streets [alleys] in Venice make even good maps tough to decipher. This is frustrating at first but soon becomes part of the fun of being in Venice. The breakfast was adequate, not great but good enough to start the day. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is close to the Rialto bridge so restaurants and shops are all around it but it's far enough way to avoid the Rialto area noise/confusion. Overall this hotel is a good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

As many other reviews have said - the YouTube film is invaluable in finding the B&B, with the green neon "Rotisserie" sign being the main landmark that we found useful. We were upgraded to a suite, which was great as we had a couple of balconies overlooking the Santa Marina square for people-watching. The room was spotless, and having breakfast in the room was a real treat. There are deliveries to the shops from quite early in the morning, but we didn't mind that as it all adds to the charm of the location. Everything we wanted to see or do was within a 15 minute walk, and it was lovely getting away from all the noise and crowds by the Rialto Bridge and St. Marks Square and coming back to have a drink in the little bar in 'our' square. Have already recommended the Ca' Bragadin to friends and family, and will definitely stay here again if we come back to beautiful Venice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

First off, be sure to watch the YouTube on how to get to the inn. More than once. Trust me. Still got lost, but then reoriented and easily found it. We had a king suite and it was great. Very spacious and had all the amenities. Totally modern, updated bathroom, AC, little balcony, a sofa, etc. Umberto explained that all the outer doors are from the 16th century, which was pretty cool. The hotel is right by the Rialto Bridge and within walking distance of St Marks. We really liked being so close to a major vaporetto stop and definitely got our money's worth out the passes. Umberto was also extremely helpful in assisting us with figuring out public transportation for our early flight out of Venice. I choose this hotel after reading countless TripAdvisor reviews and trying to assess what the best hotel would be for us based on our preferences. If you want to be in the center of the action but not right on the Grand Canal (honestly, you're insane if you do) and want a boutique hotel with a shot of romance, this is a great inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at the Ca' Bragadin for only three nights, but it was by far the best accommodation we had during our summer holiday through Mediterranean Europe. It is ideally located in a less touristy part of town (which means quiet nights) with a range of great shops around the corner, and is just a short walk away from the famous Rialto Bridge so you get the best of both worlds.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the courteous and friendly manager who made us feel very welcome (despite us not speaking a word of Italian!) and the check-in process was a complete breeze. When we were personally ushered into our room, my partner and I could not believe our eyes: the room was truly magnificent!

We were expecting a standard-sized double room, but what we had was much better than standard. The floor space of the room was double the size of those found in conventional modern hotels, the decor was beautifully furnished (everything from the canopy bed right down to the tiled floor) and the bathroom was squeaky clean and equipped with the most modern amenities. The air-conditioning system in the room gave us great relief for all hours during the day and we were greatly appreciative of the complimentary hour of internet access that was provided to us each day.

We had Italian breakfast ordered daily, and it was always served fresh and on time (not to mention was an absolute steal at only 2€ per person for a toasted croissant and coffee). The room service menu was extensive, but we never felt the need to order as there was a lovely restaurant just beneath the inn.

And if you ever want a break from relaxing in your charming bedroom, there is a communal reading room with a balcony that gives you a grand view of the plaza that lies behind the inn.

There is nothing in the slightest bit negative I could say about this inn, simply because everything about it is perfect. I am so happy to have found this hidden gem which truly complemented the wonderful time my partner and I had in Venice. I would gladly return to this charming inn for my next trip.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and have a balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Thanks to researching other reviews on Trip Advisor for a hotel in Venice I found Ca' Bragadin Carabba due to its many positive reviews. It's located near a key landmark, the Rialto Bridge, but is out of the high foot traffic area so it's very quiet. Prior to our travels we watched the YouTube video on how to find the hotel and I took written notes that I carried with me. When we arrived Venice, finding the hotel wasn't that difficult during the daylight. It may be trickier at night (the first time). It is very quaint and comfortable, nothing splashy or fancy. As with many hotels in Italy, there are some flights of stairs so keep that in mind if you are physically challenged or have lots of luggage.
The Staff is service oriented and will show you your room upon arrival and they will answer any questions at any time. The hotel is very clean and quiet. Our room was large and "modern" and very comfortable. The room includes a LCD television with satellite channels. air conditioning, safety deposit box, private bathroom with hair dryer plus free Wi-fi. We had a Suite with an amazing balcony overlooking a Plaza. The bed was comfortable, there was good lighting options throughout the room plus in the bathroom, there was plenty of hot water, and the facility overall was very clean.
We ended up really liking the location and found it to be convenient and central. I would be very comfortable recommending this Inn to any friend and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had Suite #308. One flight up from the Office. Overlooks a Plaza. Had very pleasant patio windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We loved staying here! The accommodations were charming and modern. Management gave us an upgrade because we had a mixup through our original booking. Friendly, helpful and a wonderful experience. The location is a little tricky but I think most of Venice is like that. This was well located for walking all over. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' Bragadin Carabba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Bragadin Carabba

Address: Castello 6041 | Sottoportego Scaletta, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Bragadin e Carabba offers luxurious rooms and a friendly atmosphere in a quiet square, just a 5-minute walk from Venice's Rialto Bridge. Rooms come with LCD TV, Wi-Fi access, and independent heating. Ca' Bragadin's accommodation is spacious and decorated with classic 18th-century Venetian furnishings. Rooms enjoy views on the private gardens or on a typical Venetian side street, suites have 2 balconies overlooking the square. Ca' Bragadin e Carabba is a 14th-century Gothic building in the peaceful Campo Santa Marina. The property was home to different historic figures including Casanova. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ca' Bragadin Carabba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Bragadin Carabba Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' Bragadin Carabba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.