We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BHR Boutique Hotel Locanda Ca'Valeri
Save
You added BHR Boutique Hotel Locanda Ca'Valeri to your Saves list
Castello 3845, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #321 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

BHR located in the city side of the venice, Nice lobby with few leather chairs and sofa, have 6 meeting rooms, rooms are medium size with full bath, non smoking rooms available on 5th floor, breakfast was quiet enough, service for good,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We arrived around 7pm and were greeted with an intercom and no face or person. Hardly welcoming. We were told to find our key on the bench which we did and then were told by intercom to go outside and walk down the alley to the door at the end. When we opened our room what a disappointment. We nearly cried. It was horrible and looked like some dorm room - it even had a double bunk down one end. The walls were all scuffed and marked from furniture rubbing against them. The curtains were only a piece of scrim on a rod - and even these fell down twice during the night. Not that they were much good as there was a bright street light right outside and the scrim did nothing to keep the room dark so we didn't get much sleep until we pulled jumpers over our heads each night to get some darkness. The bedspread was dingy, dirty and threadbare. Oh, and the tv - what a joke - it was an old portable cathrode ray one sitting on a little round table with the aerial stuck on with sticky tape. The room safe didn't work. The bathroom shower door didn't shut so we ended up with a pool of water on the floor every morning. Above the shower on the wall someone had endeavoured to stick some contact type marble style wallpaper to cover up something, who knows what, but it looked decidedly dodgy. Breakfast was ok and the room was spotless. Location was also ok. But this is a 2 star!!! Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Don't bother - find somewhere else at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A bit of a challenge to find, fortunately I had read previous reviews that warned of a buzzer and mystery voice and not to expect any service. All true. Our keys were on the front counter. My husband and I had a lovely room on the 2nd floor, our girls had the room on the 1st floor which was not as nice as ours.. A minimal breakfast was served by a lovely lady in the tiny courtyard. The coffee was delicious. The only time we met the mysterious voice was when he wanted to make copies of of passports and collect a tax. Said he couldn't take a credit card, yet on the front door it showed the one I had. The location was fantastic once you got used to the maze like streets. I would not call Ca'Valeri a Hotel nor a bed & breakfast. Its a room in a house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we had already left on holiday before the previous comments were posted. Room 30 is exactly as described. When we eventually found the place there was the buzzer and the disemdodied voice telling us to wait, pleasant lady came but she didn't speak one word of English. Air conditioning, that we couldn't work, spewing black bits all over the floor. Very dark, no bedside tables so have to get out of bed to turn wall lights off. We found blinds on the outside of the window one hour before we left. Very noisy neighbours literally feet away at the back, so close you could have held hands. We found safe in back of storage cupboard. Bed mattress terrible, felt every spring. Bathroom ok. Such a pity for our last night in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

There were so many terrible things about this accommodation that I had to start writing a list! I really want travellers to know about our experience, and hopefully save someone else from a disappointing stay. I hope the owner also reads this, and thinks about seriously improving room 30 and the overall service provided at this accommodation. Whether you call it a hotel, boutique hotel or bed and breakfast - it was terrible.

We arrived after a long transit at about 7:30pm. The front door was locked and only a mobile number was provided (we don't have a mobile in Europe, since we are traveling from Australia for 3 months). After ringing the doorbell outside a few times, we were greeted by a gruff voice from the intercom outside, informing us that our keys were on the table inside the door. The voice (think the Wiz, as we nicknamed him, from the Wizard of Oz...) was not at all welcoming. We were instructed to take our keys OUT of the hotel and down a dark laneway, where we found Room 30. It's NOT EVEN IN THE HOTEL!!!

This is why you should not get room 30
- It looked NOTHING like the photos on the website, the furniture was mismatching and old. It looked like it had been bought from a flea market.
- The room was very, very dark. There was one lamp (that wasn't even plugged in) and there were NO bedside lamps.
- There was a cupboard, which we assumed was for our bags, clothes etc. But when we opened it, it was full of old tvs (yes, previous reviews are true) as well as old furniture. Disgusting and dusty. And so, there was absolutely no storage space at all for our belongings.
- As it was hot, we turned the air conditioner on. It immediately started spitting black stuff (dust, dirt??) out all over the room, the bed and our bags. So horrible!! We had to turn it off immediately, of course, and suffer in the heat.
- The wifi DOES NOT reach this room at all.
- Some of the bathroom lights were not working.
- The room had a really putrid smell, probably mould. They were trying to hide this with a perfume thing in the wall, which also stank and didn't hide the smell anyway.
- The walls were dirty, black scuff marks all over them (again, not anything like the pictures on the website).
- There was no safe, as was promised for all rooms on the website.
- There was no fan in the bathroom. When we opened the window, we were immediately greeted by mozzies, and had to shut it again. So, no ventillation in the bathroom. Not pleasant.
- There was some mould in the shower.
- There are no curtains on the windows. Thus, light from neighbouring places shone through and made it hard for us to sleep.
- Several light switches were not working.

Now, some of these things may seem petty, but I hope you will see that when added together, this was absolutely outrageous considering the price they charge here. We were disgusted, and immediately visited the intercom to request a roomswap (please note that we have been traveling through Europe for almost three months and have never had to complain about a room like this). The gruff voice, after I had to list things that were wrong, eventually barked in a very unfriendly manner that after breakfast, he would try to move us.

Breakfast, by the way, as stated in previous reviews, is extremely average. Close to the worst I have had anywhere on my travels. Example: croissants in plastic packages. Seriously???

Trying to get swapped after breakfast was an ordeal in itself. The only staff member available, spoke absolutely no English and just said we had to wait until 11. We were cross about this, we had 2 days only in Venice, and so wanted to get out and about. But, the Wiz, via intercom yet again, said we must wait until 11. Very poor service to two people who are already unhappy with your product, certainly not how I would run my business.

When finally the girl came to get us, she showed us to another room up 52 steep stairs with no lift. There was no-one to help with bags of course... When we got up to the room, it hadn't been cleaned!!! So then we had to leave our bags in the room and wait another 20 minutes in the small non-airconditioned lobby (where there is virtually no-where to sit) while she cleaned it. She never told us when she was done cleaning, we had to work it out ourselves bu hearing the door close, and then trudge up the 52 stairs again, hot and bothered. She was extremely unfriendly through the whole process, and no one ever made any attempt to apologise or see if we were happy.

The new room was nicer, and more like those advertised on the web. However, moving rooms, when you are only in a place for 3 nights is really disruptive to your holiday, and guests should NOT be put in this position in the first place.

Of note in the new room is that, while it was very nicely decorated, it was very small and had little storage space. The mini-bar is empty. Also, there is one or two bars of wi-fi here, and it was very, very slow.

The next morning we finally layed eyes on the Wiz. While he would greet us in a reasonably friendly way, I witnessed him yelling at the aforementined female worker on a few occasions. In front of us!! It was awkward, and completely unacceptable to speak to anyone like this.

Also, at the end of our stay, we were asked to pay a hefty city tax, and he refused to let us pay with credit card, even though the machine was right there!!

Overall, this was a terrible experience and I would never, never go back here. Such a shame to have such poor accommodation since, otherwise, Venice was incredible.

Do yourself a favour, avoid this place, avoid the Wiz, if anything - definitely avoid room 30.

Room Tip: Make sure you request to not have room 30!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Arranged for my daughter to stay in this hotel, with travelling companion for her 18th birthday. She loved the place. Convenient yet quiet. Particularly liked the breakfast arrangement in the courtyard. I contacted the hotel staff to arrange a birthday cake etc. as a 'surprise'. They were extremely helpful and well organised and presented the chocolate cake at breakfast.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed here in June 2009, very nicely decorated, and very quiet. In the area of nice little cafes and restaurants too, not far from St. Mark's square, if I remember correctly. It seemed a little shady how we had to call someone, who'd then come and let us in though, and we never seemed to see anyone at reception.
Breakfast was also just some pre-packeaged crossiants and orange juice..had to stop at cafes to get something decent. But overall, quite luxurious and restful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BHR Boutique Hotel Locanda Ca'Valeri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BHR Boutique Hotel Locanda Ca'Valeri

Address: Castello 3845, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 102

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BHR Boutique Hotel Locanda Ca'Valeri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.