We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but bad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Trattoria Bandierette

Antica Trattoria Bandierette
Barbaria Delle Tole 6671 | Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)
+39 041 522 0619
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #398 of 1,211 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Castello
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This place was recommended to us by the owner of the flat we stayed in. We were too late for lunch the first day so came back. Mistake. The owner was either hostile because we were tourist or because are children are brown. We aren't sure which as he scathingly spoke to an employee in front of us that is the same ethnicity as our children. The food was good but frustrating to realize after we left that we had been overcharged €5 on a bottle of wine. Too hard with our limited Italian to go back to get money back. I would not recommend this place. Also coperto charged was €10 which was the higher than we paid other places. Keep on moving. There are better dining experiences to be had elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    38
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“They could have cared less if we were there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were walking in this part of town around dinner time and this place looked full of people enjoying their meal. We should have picked up on it sooner that they were less than interested in us and just kept walking but we didn't so we were in store for a mediocre experience.

The food was fine. We ordered the scallops app, a salad, a nightly special pasta dish and piece of fish. The food wasn't really the problem but didn't taste as good when the server was fairly short with us. Truly he could have cared less if we were dining there - which put a bad taste in our mouth.

We would not go back and do not recommend to tourists. I think they were disappointed that we were tourist and we were disappointed that they were rude. Even if language is a barrier - you can still make light of a situation and let your diners feel welcome to your restaurant - there's a difference.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in an apartment near the Castello Sestiere of Venice. This restaurant was recommended by our landlord and we returned there frequently during out visit to Venice. The service is gracious and informal. Above all, the grilled fish (bronzino or sole) was always perfectly cooked. Prices are reasonable. Excellent pasta, too. I wish we had such lovely low-key place here in Boston.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to ignore”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Impostors like many restaurants in Venice and who does not deserve to exist any longer: a restaurant with a nice and typical front window, few bottles on the wall, an attractive menu. But here's what we have behind the scenes: two microwave steamers and basta! As a result meals are tasteless (the one taken: cannelloni with swordfish) and full of water... Even the tomato sauce was not homemade (tin)! How can we love this job without the love of cooking and fresh products?
For helping the world to move forward in the right direction don't stop to this restaurant even for having a look at the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing and authentic seafood experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant whilst exploring the quieter side of Venice. It is small but opens onto a lovely little (and I mean little) piazza.It is run by an old couple who whilst the husband may seem surly, is actually just due to a lack of English. The wife though tries her best and laughs along with you as you try out your Italian. But they are both lovely and help as much as they can.
We ate the recommendations - lobster pasta and pasta con canoce (although to this day we still are not sure what canoce is) but both were amazing seafood pastas. Delicious subtle flavours of the lobster and the canoce a more tomato based sauce. 350ml bottle red wine and an Italian beer €41. Highly recommend - would definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Trattoria Bandierette also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Antica Trattoria Bandierette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Trattoria Bandierette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.