We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Omnibus

Ristorante Omnibus
Sestiere San Marco, 4171, Venice, Italy (Castello)
0039 - 041.52.37.213 - 041.71.96.62
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #653 of 1,198 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Castello
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Above Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a touristy restaurant in a touristy location but, for all that we were quite impressed.

We had lunch here on the day of the fatal accident on the Grand Canal at Rialto having arrived by vaporetto at Rialto about 10 minutes after the incident.

We wanted to eat by the canal and the menu on offer looked as good as any. Our seat was right next to the water and we chose the tourist menu at 20 euros including service but not including wine.

We chose a 0.5 Lt carafe of rose wine which, although un-named, reminded us very much of a Gallo white grenache. This came with very fresh bread rolls but the olive oil and balsamic, mentioned by another reviewer was not on our table so had to be asked for, nevertheless, it arrived, with "dipping bowls" promptly.

I had a lasagne starter and my wife had the spaghetti in pomodoro sauce. The spaghetti was fine and although the lasagne did not taste how I would cook it, it was acceptable, the smell being worse than the taste.

My main course was veal and my wife had the chicken. Both dishes came with a side choice of salad or fries, so, like most, we had one of each and shared. Lots of nice crispy fries and lots of tasty salad helped by our own improvised dressing of oil, balsamic and parmesan.

The veal had obviously been taken out of the freezer and fried, but I knew this in advance as the menu is marked to indicate products which are frozen and not fresh; yes, the chicken was a little dry but there's so much of it you can get past that.

I am an icecreamaholic and it was obvious we were not going to get gourmet italian icecream here but the menu included a dessert so we both chose creme caramel and again, no cause to complain.

Total payable for meal for two including wine 48 euros.

I agree with other reviewers that the service may not be as attentive as they would like but at lunch time each waiter seemed to be looking after about 6 tables, so had plenty of time to stand and it was easy to catch their eye if you needed anything.

This restaurant is less than 100 metres from Rialto Bridge (the view of which is partially obscured by the vaporetto pontoon) and on the north facing side of the canal so on a hot sunny day you can sit outside, pleasantly in the shade of the building. You have to accept that what you pay for here is the view, and to be seen enjoying it.

We enjoyed our lunch and generally we found it to be good value. Best of all - no ill effects!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    33
    21
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice for parma ham and melon!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My sister and i love a Parma ham and melon dish... So we saw it on the menu and thought to try it out as the restaurant was busy and situated on the grand canal. The parma ham and melon plate is great, they were very generous with the parma ham which is important if you are a fan of this dish. Staff were a bit cold (maybe because we dont speak Italian?) but service was fast. Other dishes looked average but for the location and pricing - give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rodez, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“FANTASTIC DINNER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very good meals and an incredible view ont The Rialto. We went there two time this week. Really good address

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Daniel, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The worst meal of my life!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Do not go here! The staff is not attentive and the food is terrible. I got chicken and it was so dry you could hardly chew it and my daughters lasagna had a vinegary taste! It was 24 euros and we left hungry!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty meal on the Grand canal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had lunch here, and didn't expect to have great food in a touristy area. We were pleasantly surprised by the food. The pizzas and salad were great, and the atmosphere was wonderful...we watched many gondolas lazily pass by, right by the Rialto. The service was polite but average. However, it was pretty pricey, the most expensive of our lunches in Venice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Omnibus also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
City of Venice, Province of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Omnibus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Omnibus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.