We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vecio Fritolin

Vecio Fritolin
Calle della Regina 2262 - Sestiere Santa Croce, 30135 | Calle della Regina 2262, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
390415222881
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Vecio Fritolin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #247 of 1,211 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $55 - $77
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Venice���s Vecio Fritolin is a much loved, characterful little restaurant near the Rialto Bridge in Santa Croce where people have been eating traditional Venetian food for over a century. It is one of the city���s few still-thriving fritolini, precursors of today���s fast food eateries, popular in the 1800s with both the rich and less well off. The scrumptious historic finger food is still served, alongside masterpiece variations on other local Venetian and Italian dishes. The seafood and vegetables come daily from the nearby Rialto Markets, and are on the constantly-changing menu within hours. Whether they stumble or deliberately step onto Vecio Fritolin's pink terrazzo floor, everyone's invariably glad they did.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A fairly low key exterior. We came across it by chance and the menu looked very interesting. The service was very good- professional, efficient, welcoming and friendly. The food was superb and easily of a Michelin star standard. It was not expensive for the quality, although certainly not cheap - that's Macdonalds market. We had scallops to start and they were superb followed by baked cod with mint which was excellent. We will certainly go back. We recommend you make the effort to find this one, the other side of the Rialto bridge from St Marcs square. Typical Venetian cuisine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Many thanks ,Mr Brian
I hope see you again.
sorry for my english
Irina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    190
    68
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Over-priced, over-salted, over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The least good food we had in Venice and the most expensive (E133 for 2 courses and house wine for 2 of us). The baby artichoke salad with herbs was an inelegant dump of greenery and flower petals in a bowl which had a bitter taste and was very salty. When I complained the smartly dressed waiter commented 'So you don't like fennel'. The fish fry was as you would get anywhere but dry with no slice of lemon or dressing to moisten it. Style and little substance with no sign of the chef or friendly patron who figure on the website.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durris, Scotland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had dinner on a Sunday evening. The service was outstanding, and we were made to feel really comfortable by our waiter who spoke excellent English. I had a starter of grilled octopus, my wife had grilled anchovies, and both dishes impressed. To follow, spaghetti with prawns and asparagus and the fried seafood were also fresh and very tasty. The menu choice was small compared to other restaurants, but the quality of the food was high.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for the review. The keeping a relatively low number of dishes on our menu is indeed a deliberate choice that allow us to work with stricly seasonal products (mostly in case of fish and vegetables). Please come to visit us again next time, thank you very much.
Irina Freguia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very nice near Ca'Pesaro Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

After the gallery, we noticed a nice 4* hotel on the water nearby. They didn't have a restaurant, but steered us toward this one.

A very nice place tucked away, locals and tourists. I had the fish of the day, my wife a pasta, it was a great choice!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thanks for the comment. Do not hesitate to come back next time you are in town. Thank you.
Irina Freguia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A treat for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We chose Fritolin to celebrate a significant birthday. From previous visits we knew to pace ourselves: go easy on the home made bread if you want to have space for dessert. The soft shelled crab was sublime, while the catch of the day (turbot) and marinated cod were delicious. Sweet wine with biscotti rounded the meal off perfectly. This restaurant is not cheap but the experience is unforgettable. The staff are friendly and helpful. One of the best meals we have had for a long time. We'll be back next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
many thanks.
sorry but I dont speack english
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecio Fritolin also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Vecio Fritolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vecio Fritolin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.