We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat for a special occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vecio Fritolin

Vecio Fritolin
Calle della Regina 2262 - Sestiere Santa Croce, 30135 | Calle della Regina 2262, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
390415222881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 1,317 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $56 - $79
Cuisines: Seafood, Italian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Venice���s Vecio Fritolin is a much loved, characterful little restaurant near the Rialto Bridge in Santa Croce where people have been eating traditional Venetian food for over a century. It is one of the city���s few still-thriving fritolini, precursors of today���s fast food eateries, popular in the 1800s with both the rich and less well off. The scrumptious historic finger food is still served, alongside masterpiece variations on other local Venetian and Italian dishes. The seafood and vegetables come daily from the nearby Rialto Markets, and are on the constantly-changing menu within hours. Whether they stumble or deliberately step onto Vecio Fritolin's pink terrazzo floor, everyone's invariably glad they did.
Egham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A treat for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We chose Fritolin to celebrate a significant birthday. From previous visits we knew to pace ourselves: go easy on the home made bread if you want to have space for dessert. The soft shelled crab was sublime, while the catch of the day (turbot) and marinated cod were delicious. Sweet wine with biscotti rounded the meal off perfectly. This restaurant is not cheap but the experience is unforgettable. The staff are friendly and helpful. One of the best meals we have had for a long time. We'll be back next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
many thanks.
sorry but I dont speack english
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“True Venetian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We absolutely loved it. Some of the previous reviewers on here missed the point completely. The name implies (for those who understand Venetian) a fry up. Done properly, it's feather like tempura, no greasy spoon fare. Our fried moleche and artichoke hearts were out of this world. Main course of sea bass was perfection and those who tried the old fritto misto classic where in for a fantastic treat. Service was impeccable, Irina and staff, thank you!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pol1010101010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Many many ,many thanks.
sorry for my english.
best regards
Irina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good service and very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We chose Vecio Fritolin on our first night in Venice as it was close to our hotel and we didn't want to run the gauntlet of getting lost before we had got our bearings.

What we found was a beautiful restaurant with a bustling atmosphere and very helpful staff. The food was excellent, baccala and polenta for starter for myself and the saffron rice pudding for my girlfriend. Both were beautiful, as was the large plate of various fried seafood and vegetables that we had as our mains.

We enjoyed a nice glass of wine alongside the food, and although the final bill was a tad steep it was nice to splash out a little for a very good meal the day after our engagement and on our first night in the city. Would certainly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmas6, Proprietario at Vecio Fritolin, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Many thanks, sorry for my english. I hope see you again.
regards
Irina Freguia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“'Authentic, Delicious, and Good Service'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went to this Trattoria for my 40th birthday treat, I had carefully read all of the reviews and this place did not let me down. It was a lovely atmosphere with very attentive polite staff, and the food was the best we ate whilst in Venice and authentic with a twist.
I ate deep fried soft shell crabs and then feathered pork with glazed potatoes and they reminded me of what my grandmother would make (delicious).
I would definatly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carl_nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great menu and calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

After four long days in Venice, we were shattered and looked for something close to our hotel and stumbled across the Vecio Fritolin in a guide book. We thought, as it was our last night, that we'd splash out and go for the Taster Menu, it was absolutely fantastic.
The staff were friendly and attentive, answered our questions about the food and gave good recommendations for accompanying wine.
Would highly recommend to anyone else visiting Venice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A-Hautchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecio Fritolin also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Vecio Fritolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing