We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vecio Fritolin

Vecio Fritolin
Calle della Regina 2262 - Sestiere Santa Croce, 30135 | Calle della Regina, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
041 522 28 81
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #304 of 1,206 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $55 - $77
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Venice���s Vecio Fritolin is a much loved, characterful little restaurant near the Rialto Bridge in Santa Croce where people have been eating traditional Venetian food for over a century. It is one of the city���s few still-thriving fritolini, precursors of today���s fast food eateries, popular in the 1800s with both the rich and less well off. The scrumptious historic finger food is still served, alongside masterpiece variations on other local Venetian and Italian dishes. The seafood and vegetables come daily from the nearby Rialto Markets, and are on the constantly-changing menu within hours. Whether they stumble or deliberately step onto Vecio Fritolin's pink terrazzo floor, everyone's invariably glad they did.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My friend and I visited this resturant on our trip to Venice in February as we walked around Santa Croce and finally reaching the Rialto Bridge and then walking back to find somewhere to eat and rest. This looked like a pretty ideal resturant for lunch and it was!

It's in a gorgeous location, you walk into the resturant and you're immediately greeted with a buzzing, friendly atmosphere and lovely staff. We sat next to a window with a view of the locals, and visitors walking the many streets of Venice. The menu was reasonably priced, and the food freshly prepared which tasted delicious. The resturant interior is filled with nostalgia, and great decorations, you can tell and see it is an authentic Venetion resturant with a great choice of starters, main meals, desserts and beverages.

Great place for family dining, dinner with friends, or a romantic meal with your partner too. Next time I'm in Venice, I'll be stopping by here again. It is worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    178
    60
    40
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barzago, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Truly venetian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was very often disappointed by restaurants in Venice, so I was so relieved to find out good places exist in this city! The menu is a delight of local flavors, served with a welcomed touch of creativity. We had a variety of fish-based entries, accompanied by a tasty white polenta. Homemade pasta and gnocchi were worth trying, as well as the desserts. Wine list included a variety of wines from the North-East of Italy, some of them from excellent vineyards, but a little expensive. Overall price was the same of an averag dinner in Milano, but with a much higher quality of the food. Special thanks to Mauro, the owner, who added a welcomed elegant touch of attention to our table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Best in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We came here on our first night. We really didn't like the waiters in this place. And we thought they didn't like us; they were brusque and the courses came and went with much too great an efficiency. But 4 days later when we came to think about our last night in the city, we chose this one. Why? Because of the food.
Whoever was in the kitchen in mid-late December 2012 clearly knew what s/he was doing. And the result was much more interesting than locanda cipriani, much more nuanced than the wonderful-in-other-ways Antico giardino down the road.
The ingredients were excellent and perfectly cooked and there was a lot of wit and originality also - 'lagoon in snow' [a wonderful viscous consomme of tiny molluscs and crustaceans under a flavoursome white foam] red peppers with liquorice bread - an obvious but still unusual combination.

No idea who was in the kitchen but I salute you Sir/Madam
Ten out of Ten
Please don't go out of business

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“For Venice standard a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had lunch with the four of us, 4 main course and 3 desserts and 3 glasses of wine and paid EUR 170. Food and service is good. They don't drag you in from the street when you are looking at the menu on the outside which we like.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnraggett
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just back from lunch and can't fault it. Just had the one course being lunch, but the two pasta dishes were amazing, the cocca spagetti with calamari was wow! Wine very resonably priced and easy drinking. Might have to go back for the tasting menu, just hope the portions are smaller! Not sure the last couple of reviews have been the same place and we do like our mitchlin food and this is up to the mark!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecio Fritolin also viewed

 

Been to Vecio Fritolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vecio Fritolin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.