We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found it While Lost - Unforgettable Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria San Basilio

Trattoria San Basilio
Dorsoduro 1516 | Calle del Vento, Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)
041 521 00 28
Improve this listing
Ranked #504 of 1,216 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Found it While Lost - Unforgettable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We found this place like most people find restaurants in Venice, while lost. We ended up along the outer bank of the island walking towards where the cruise ships dock. At the end of the long promenade there was was this tiny restaurant on the corner. We had been walking for a while exploring and looking for a place to eat so we decided to give it a try. We were immediately greeted by the host and who I assume was the owner and possible chef sometimes??? He cleared a table for us in the corner.

When we order the house wine, he gave us a wink and when my husband ordered the anchovies with onions, he reached out and shook my husband's hand and told him he was a true Venetian! He was very helpful and suggested lots of things on the menu. We ended up ordering 2 kinds of fish and vegetables which he brought out to us de-boned and on a big platter so we could try each of the fish. At the end of the meal, he was overjoyed my husband ordered the grappa. Clearly we weren't his usual cruise ship patrons. I wanted limoncello but he was out so he brought me another kind of after dinner liqueur which was delicious. At the end of the night he kissed me on each of my cheeks and hugged us as we left.

A truly memorable night in Venice. If you can find it, GO! Order like a local!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    6
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“TRULY HOMEMADE STYLE COOKING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The owner and staff were by far the friendliest in a friendly town. Their attitude just added joy. At the end of the Dosorduro, right near the must visit San Sebastian church, you find yourself in a real neighborhood. Locals comes to the small bar and drink standing up.
But then there's the food. They serve superior pasta, salads, potatoes, bread and coffee with complimentary Burano biscuits (a favorite.) The seafood tastes like it was just caught.
We came out of the rain and wanted to stay for the afternoon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So friendly and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Not posh - just a lovely friendly local tratoria. Food was really well cooked and great value. I am amazed by the review where somone said the guys were rude as they were charming and chatty and very helpful. We had a coue of lively meals plus coffees and drinks at other time. If you touristy places dont go here - this is where locals eat drink and chat. Just briiliant!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A lovely experience !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This charming little restaurant right next to San Basilio vaporetto stop is well worth a visit. The bright yellow tablecloths reflect the warmth of the welcome from the owners - what friendly service !! We had a long leisurely lunch here, very good food and delicious wine.....and of course the views are excellent across the Guidecca canal.
A lovely little restaurant which we would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I know it's not central but it's worth the extra walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just got back to our hotel at Tre Ponti from restaurant. 10 min walk away! Our meal was fantastic, if you like really fresh, simply cooked fish with veg, this is the place for you! The brothers who own the family restaurant are hospitable and incredibly friendly. We had a very fresh fish starter to share and beautifully fresh sea bass and sea bream. We were given complimentary venician 'fritelle' as it's carnevale, and a complimentary grappa. Even with a bottle of wine, bread on tap, and serivice charge, we payed less than 85 euro. I would have paid much more. Felt very comfortable and enjoyed every minute. Going back tomorrow for some spaghetti vongole! Stay away from the tourist packed restaurants. They will rip you off. Genuine Italian food that makes me proud. Will definitely come back next time I visit Venezia! (restaurant is small and romantic with lovely art work covering all walls. Very cute and memorable!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria San Basilio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria San Basilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria San Basilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.