We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to take a pause ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Paolin

Gelateria Paolin
San Marco 2962 | Campo Santo Stefano, Venice, Italy (San Marco)
041 522 55 76
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 1,217 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: San Marco
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice place to take a pause ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

After a half day walking, we sat down for a short break with aperol spritz, it was delicious.
I think we stad a little over 1 hour enjoying our drink en watching the people go by.
We will definately go back later on this week.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    44
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“very rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The quality of food, generally panini, is below average and the staff is very rude.
The only strenght is the wide number of tables in one of the best campi in Venice. despite this, avoid it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good corner of the square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A really great place just to hang out and watch people come and go on Campo San Stefano. Enjoy a coffee or a fantastic ice cream while you're there. Lovely hot chocolate as well. They also serve food but not on a restaurant scale. Toasted sandwiches, some pasta, antipasti and cakes, all good quality. We sat there for about two hours one Sunday just drinking coffee, prosecco and munching on a few snacks. That's how to enjoy Venice. No need to rush.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
523 reviews 523 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Given the excellent location in one of the most popular squares in Venice it is easy to see how this place has become famous. The Gelati itself is OK nothing extra ordinary but very edible on a hot day and good value too at only 2euros a shot. The service is pretty good as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The gelateria is located on a fairly large plaza. It must be wonderful to sit down and people watch when the temperature picks up. Unfortunately we were here in March, so not so nice and warm, actually rather chilly, but we still sat down outside for gelato and espresso. It was delicious!

Fairly pricey, like most places in Venice. Service was friendly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Paolin also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gelateria Paolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria Paolin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.